We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$194
$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
592
257
67
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
257
67
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastdowntown portsmouthbagelsnew englandoff the highwaycoffee makerroom was spotlesstraffic circlewould definitely stay here againone night staya great place to stayminute drivefridge and microwaveconvenient locationflat screen tvoutdoor poolfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 931 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Though not close to town center, it was a lovely hotel. Front desk staff very friendly & helpful. I have 2 suggestions for those who plan to stay, make sure you ask for a room away from the road and ask for the top floor. We had people arrive late one night & could hear them stomping & dropping things all night until they went to bed(very late I might add). Either they were a herd of elephants or the floors are very thin. Not sure why staff would put guests above us when the hotel was basically empty but I guess they didn't take that into consideration, which they should have. The breakfast is OK. Bagels, toast, etc. and a frozen egg sandwich you can buy at the supermarket. They were also renovating (or so the sign indicated) and they only had 2 tables to sit at requiring you to bring your food back to your room. Hopefully they get furniture soon.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KentaiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Port Inn and found it to be a good value for the money. I did notice a few stains one on the pillow sham and one on the arm of the chair, but overall our room was clean. It did not have any funny odor or rug stains. The bathroom was clean as well. I also liked being able to pull directly up to our door because it made loading and unloading luggage extremely easy. It also had a washer and dryer, which I liked because I did my laundry before my return home.The lobby was under renovation, so a vacant room was set up to suffice. You could not sit down to eat breakfast which was fine because there were only run of the mill bagels, toast, and muffins. I decided to skip the breakfast and eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor for ease of use, but I would not recommend the ones on the back side of the building if you are a woman traveling alone. Ask for one near the office.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanneX157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a good centrally located motel for a shopping/ tourist visit.Clean, all the necessities, good bed, adequate continental breakfast with some healthy options and helpful staff. Room could use an update (carpet, dark walls), but it had good bathroom counter, extra everything and great housekeeping.
Eco friendly which is nice!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "suite", it was the last room left.Busy spot in Oct, book ahead!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Whenever we come to NH we always like to stay at the Port Inn. Clean, close to everything, and their continental breakfast is the best. We were a little disappointed when we came that they were remodeling and the continual breakfast was in a former guest room ... But, was still so good - and it will be even better next time we visit!
Excellent value and very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if can be upgraded to a studio!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha54115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and for being our guests when in Portsmouth. We are pleased to say that renovations in the lobby will be wrapping up soon, and we are excited to show off the finished product. The breakfast area will be expanding, and watch for some new additions to the offerings as well. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on the way from Cooperstown to Boston. We were checked in without trouble and the front desk were helpful and welcoming. Our rooms (we booked two of them) were exactly what you would expect from a hotel.
Despite being on a main thoroughfare, we couldn't hear any traffic noise in our rooms.
Breakfast was very simple, bagels, toast, coffee, juice. There is barely anywhere to sit in the breakfast room, but I understand the hotel is being renovated during the winter months.
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We indeed are undergoing renovations and expanding the breakfast area, in fact that phase should be completed by mid December. We will also be adding a few more items to the breakfast line up, including a hot item. Be sure to check us out on your next return to Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews