We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   505 U.S. Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We did not have reservations for a hotel on our recent sight seeing trip up the coast from Boston. We were looking for something reasonable, not too fancy. This was perfect. The employees were friendly, check in was easy and the room was clean and quiet. The guy working at the front desk suggested a Mexican restauraunt called Agave in Portsmouth which was excellent. I do have to say that the continental breakfast offered was nothing to write home about and left us wanting a real breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnp4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    210
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
170
301
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Port Inn with my mom while visiting a friend at UNH. The room (104) was SPOTLESS and very comfortable. Amenities were perfect, not too little or too much--great TV (with remote instructions!), desk with comfy chair, iron, microwave, fridge. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed. Front desk staff were accommodating but speedy without being brusque. Continental breakfast was fine--good coffee.

The only complaint I have is that it is far away from Portsmouth. Of course that is what it is, but if I went to visit Portsmouth again I would probably stay a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phenchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We received a warm welcome on arrival after a tiring journey from the UK. Our room was nicely furnished, clean and warm. The weather was great for the time of year, so we walked to downtown to sample the first lobsters of our trip. The people on reception were always willing and able to help and offer local advice. We'll stay at the Port Inn again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room was nice and clean. We were located in a corner unit and it was surprisingly quiet considering the place is off a 4 lane by-pass. Little to no traffic noise.

Breakfast is a carb-fest with breads, sweets, bagels, even a gluten free option for those following the latest fad.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice. Scramble parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whilst the Port inn appears to be like a motel it is a good clean friendly place, much more a Hotel. Our room in the separate block at the rear was quiet, clean and tasteful. Wi-fi was good and we even had a kitchenette in the room. Staff were very helpful and a light bread and cake type breakfast was available buffet style in the front reception. This was the only oddity as one had to be there at a suitable time to get useful seating from which to eat. Great news was that it was only a 10-15 minute walk down the quiet roads to get into Portsmouth town. overall very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With our upcoming conversion to the Ascend Collection of Hotels, we are undertaking a major lobby renovation, including expanding the breakfast area to accommodate more tables and chairs for dining. Many guestrooms are also being renovated in the style of our sister property, Port Inn Kennebunk, which is a member of the Ascend Collection. We look forward to these exciting changes. Again, thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you in Portsmouth or Kennebunk in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this motel. Our room was a comfortable size, very clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and gave us good information on restaurants and local attractions. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steele8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 U.S. Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing