We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whilst the Port inn appears to be like a motel it is a good clean friendly place, much more a Hotel. Our room in the separate block at the rear was quiet, clean and tasteful. Wi-fi was good and we even had a kitchenette in the room. Staff were very helpful and a light bread and cake type breakfast was available buffet style in the front reception. This was the only oddity as one had to be there at a suitable time to get useful seating from which to eat. Great news was that it was only a 10-15 minute walk down the quiet roads to get into Portsmouth town. overall very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortInnNH, General Manager at Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With our upcoming conversion to the Ascend Collection of Hotels, we are undertaking a major lobby renovation, including expanding the breakfast area to accommodate more tables and chairs for dining. Many guestrooms are also being renovated in the style of our sister property, Port Inn Kennebunk, which is a member of the Ascend Collection. We look forward to these exciting changes. Again, thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you in Portsmouth or Kennebunk in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 853 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this motel. Our room was a comfortable size, very clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and gave us good information on restaurants and local attractions. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steele8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked this motel/hotel for a one night sleepover based on the Tripadvisor reviews and the absolutely fair price.

The hotel is easily accessible from I-95 and US-1, and is well-kept, with a fair size rooms, which are clean and with an OK decor. The included continental breakfast was OK for the price, and the people at the reception were all friendly and smiling.

For the price this is a "very good" - as rated - one-night or two-night hotel at the gateway to Maine or for a daytrip to White Mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were delighted with the accommodations, linens were 4 star quality at half the cost. The staff was very helpful and offered many suggestions to enjoy in the community of Portsmouth, a city that offers many treats.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

5 Minutes from downtown, property shows that the owners and team take huge pride in the property. The staff was wonderful, hot shower (bulging shower curtain nice touch) towels, linens, pillow all of very good quality.
The Port Inn is not a drive by, stay and get a good nights sleep, at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: best pricing on web site, use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a stop on our trip to Maine. It was a great location off the highway. The room was nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very basic but sufficent, there was no tables or chairs to sit and eat, just a few couches and chairs, which made breakfast a little messy with a 2 year old. The staff were very nice and friendly. The bathroom was nice but the shower was not hot for 2 showers in a row. Portsmouth was a cute little town, but not much to do. This was a great place for the purposes we needed it for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewleyWed61210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just spent the last two and a half weeks photographing New england from Virginia to Maine. We stayed in many hotels over that time, including some very nice hotels including the Omni Parker House in Boston, and several Hilton and Hyatt hotels. They were all very good , but by far the best one we stayed at was the Port Inn. The hotel looks a little like a motor lodge from the 1960's when you drive up but this place is wonderful, its not a luxury hotel by design, but that does not stop you from being treated exceptionally well. The room was immaculate, I am saying operating room clean. The room had all the amenities that you need for a stay, a large TV with easy to understand instructions on how to use the cable printed out and sitting next to it. They was a refrigerator and microwave, as well as a coffee maker. The bed was a plush king size that was very comfortable to sleep on. The location was quiet and we slept like a log. The staff was very friendly when we checked into the room, and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. I started out just liking the room, but after a while I made it a quest to try and find something that was wrong with the room. I am tall so I even looked on top of things like shelves and such to see if I could find any dust. No marine drill instructor ever went over a room more than I did to try and find a flaw. I found none. The free breakfast in the morning was very good with fresh yogurt and rolls. My wife who drinks coffee said it was excellent , and my orange juice was fresh. You can tell that the people from the front dest to the people who clean the room all take pride in the Port Inn, and I can see why. I give it my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 505 US Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $99 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing