We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel choice for Portsmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel choice for Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is very quiet and a short drive to downtown Portsmouth. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Staff provided a map showing the back roads to take into downtown Portsmouth along with good suggestions on parking. Good continental breakfast. Rooms were very clean. I would stay here again when travelling to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    224
    57
    12
    1
See reviews for
189
321
31
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just what we needed. It's nice to find a non-chain motel that is friendly, clean & simple. Decent breakfast, knowledgeable staff, nice pool, large rooms - near enough to the Portsmouth downtown & easy to find off I95.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGMACjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Port Inn for one night. We are Seniors, and we found it to be a great place to stay. The queen sized bed was comfortable; room VERY clean; breakfast included; park very close to room; although off the highway, we left the window open all night a d weren't disturbed by noise - I'm a light sleeper too. We would recommend the Port Inn without hesitation. Also, owners are very accommodating,too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonkai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed one night, late August. The motel is conveniently located, excellently maintained and has that New England charming feel. We didn't use the pool, although it was clean and looked inviting.

We were travelling as a party of 3 and had booked a 2 doubled bedded room. The room was clean had a small fridge, microwave and sitting chair. It would have been a bit tight for a party of 4. The bathroom was a good size and well lit. The room had an in the wall air conditioning unit, which unfortunately was quite loud and not overly efficient. We had to turn it off to sleep, but then the room was too warm and had a slight musty smell. The smell was not unpleasant and not unusual for sea side based accommodations. My husband and daughter didn't even notice it.

The staff are exceptional. I had forgotten my toothbrush and was given one. Coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the lobby and they have fresh hot water for the tea. Good quality tea too. The breakfast was as is usual for motels/hotels, very carbohydrate heavy. However, the selection of pastries, small croissants and good quality breads was remarkable. Fresh fruit and yoghurt were also available.

We paid the standard web rate as we booked a day in advance only. Not sure if there are better deals, but I felt we received good value for the area and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParistoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night in Aug. without a reservation. Pleasantly surprised to find they had vacancy and the price was VERY reasonable. Room and bath were newly renovated and immaculate. Microwave, fridge, ironing equipment and hair dryer along with extra pillows, in each room. Grounds were beautifully managed. Pool and breakfast area were well maintained and the customer service was excellent. If I had one thing I would have changed it would have been the location of our room. We were on the front/road side and early Mon. morning traffic was a little noisey. Ask for a room on the back side near the Pool! You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August for a weekend getaway; we had tickets to a concert at the Hampton Beach Casino which is about 10 miles away but the hotel is right off the highway so it was a direct commute. Easy access to downtown Portsmouth where the parking garage is very reasonable. Room was comfortable and clean with fridge and microwave which we would have used if we were staying longer. Bathroom was small but clean and towels were fine; staff both upon checking in and checking out couldn't have been nicer. Didn't use the pool but it looked clean; small area for breakfast but there is additional tables and chairs with umbrellas outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it is a motel off the highway BUT It certainly feels like more!!!! The room was nice bathroom a bit small. I had a problem and it was addressed immediately!!!!! Breakfast was good and enjoyed the swimming pool. Customer service was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing