We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean spacious rooms at good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“clean spacious rooms at good location”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

About a kilometer away from the town center and next to freeway exit, well isolated, spacious, clean rooms, pleasant staff, plenty of towels, large beds, sufficient parking for cars, good internet connection

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojotent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    237
    60
    13
    1
See reviews for
210
341
37
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The Port Inn was the perfect place to stay! We planned on spending a few days in the Portsmouth area and the Port Inn was top rated so we decided to stay there. So glad that we did! The inn was very well maintained and our room was spotless. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Very easy to get to, and only minutes from beautiful downtown Portsmouth and the Kittery Outlets and beautiful Ogunquit, ME and Marginal Way.
We love The Portsmouth area and always seem to find our way back, and now we will find our way back to the Port Inn!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Once again, The Port Inn does not disappoint. Very easy to find and conveniently located right off the highway (i.e., I-95), “The Port” is an easy five-minute drive from downtown Portsmouth, where parking is convenient and inexpensive. Our room was immaculate, quite charming, and well appointed (e.g., flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, etc.). The beds were unbelievably comfortable and included down comforters and large fluffy pillows. The bathroom counter tops and shower walls were marble. Although it was not nice enough to swim while we were there, the pool and patio area were quite inviting. The price was very reasonable. I hope to visit again next year.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in this year (i.e., in the front of the building near the lobby) had a nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely comfortable little motel style inn. It is not in Portsmouth proper though and you will need a car to get into town. But the rooms are clean, well appointed and large. The continental breakfast comprises coffee, some pastries and toast/bagels. But for the price it was well worth it, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluewolfmoon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although the Port Inn is a bit of a ride into town it was a nice place to stay. The people at the desk were wonderful and the room was spacious and very clean. I would absolutely stay there again as parking in Portsmouth is extremely reasonable and this was an economical motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

found this inn thru trip advisor and travelocity.Reviews were pretty good and price was right.Turned out we liked it so much we stayed an extra night.It's true that the breakfast room is pretty small but in good weather you can go outside to a pleasant sitting area.The room was very clean and king size bed very comfortable.Considering the location close to the hwy it was very quiet.Just a few minutes drive from downtown Portsmouth.Staff was very pleasant.Would definitely stay there again...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing