We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$219
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$161
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$219
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
$299
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveler rating
625
272
70
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
272
70
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated outdoor poolcontinental breakfastbagelsdowntown portsmouthnew englandroad noisecoffee makerhard boiled eggsroom was spotlessgreat place to stayfridge and microwavewould definitely stay here againone night stayminute driveconvenient locationfront desk staffflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 982 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We stayed at the Port Inn for one night on 25th April. The guy on the desk, Skip, was very friendly and gave us lots of useful information about the local area. The room was spotlessly clean with just about everything you could need, including iron and board, microwave oven, hair dryer, internet etc. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at The Port Inn with friends last weekend and I can't say enough good things around it. We took advantage of the amazing rate with the Shop and Stay Package. Check in was easy and the man at the desk Skip definitley helped to make our trip.

Our room was spotless, I've stayed in many different places, and I was amazed at not only how clean this room was but how large it was as well. We had a very large bedroom, with a kitchenette, and full bathroom. There was plenty of room to put away clothes, and hang things. The desk was also large, and allowed me to get a great amount of work done with the FREE high speed wireless internet.

We took advantage of the Shop and Stay Package, and upon arriving at the room they had set up two wine glasses, with a variety of different wines, cheeses, and candies for us. The hotel provides a free continental breakfast with a large variety of items. My only suggestion is that we stayed during Passover and one of the people in our party was unable to eat anything because everything was carbohydrate based.

There is always coffee in available in the lobby. As we were there with friends we spent the two nights we were there having coffee, and gabbing for hours in the comfortable lobby. Skip the man at the desk in the hotel made our stay. He gave us great local restaurant suggestions, and lots of advice on the area. He was so neat to talk with and we really enjoyed his company.

I can't wait to go back. Also as a side note I left my ipod in the room, and they were happy to mail it back to me!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kaarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Port Inn for one night, this week. It was a little difficult to find, as one of the other reviewers mentioned. It is apparent from the outside and from in the rooms that this place is kept up to date. The rooms, though very small, are extremely clean. The bathroom was so clean that everything looked new. The tiles on the floor didn't even have scratches.

The owners are apparently very environmentally concerned as part of there profits go to an environmental organization. There is also a notice within the room saying that if you are staying more than one night, they won't wash your sheets everyday, unless you want them to. They have the same note for the towels.

The Inn had both free wired and wireless internet. The room was equipped with a microwave and a mini refrigerator but it takes a little negotiating to get to them as they are in a corner nook, and again, the rooms are very small. One very big issue we had with the room is that the lock on the door was broken. Also, the walls are thin and you can hear all the traffic on the main road and most foot traffic in front of the room.

The continental breakfast included very fresh and tasty bagels and pastries, not the dry ones you usually get from a continental breakfast.

Also, they do not charge you when you book the room like most hotels do. They wait until you arrive. I did not know this (it doesn't say anywhere on their site) and so I emailed the Inn and inquired about the reservation. I was sent a prompt email explaining that we would be charged upon arrival, though, if we wanted they would charge us right away. I chose to be charged right away and was sent a prompt email verification as well as a regular mail receipt. I also received a courtesy email a week before the reservation, indicating to let them know if we needed anything.

We went on to spend three nights in Boston and were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the Hotel, especially after staying at the Port Inn Motel.

Overall, a great value. Better upkeep, cleanliness, and service than you will ever get at a chain.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vegaswedding05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I am so glad to have "found" the Port Inn. The staff was great. The room amazing and the price just right. It was so nice to stay at a place that felt like "home."

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank epgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We (husband, daughter, son-in-law) stayed at the Port Inn over Easter weekend. We booked two rooms with the 2-night Shoppers Package rate. Location is very convenient right off the highway, but though our rooms were in the front of the inn it was relatively quiet at night. Rooms were a bit small, but very clean. We got a great gift bag full of shopping discounts, coupons for free beer, wine/cheese/crackers/fruit for a snack.

The continental breakfast is mostly baked goods and apples, but there is a good selection. All day and night there is Seattle's Best coffe, and many types of tea.

All front desk personnel were eager to please, and check in and out was quick and efficient. We were glad we stayed at a locally owned hotel, instead of a national chain. There were cards at the inn to thank us for "buying locally." It was our pleasure

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mtngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews