We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WIll Return!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WIll Return!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at The Port Inn with friends last weekend and I can't say enough good things around it. We took advantage of the amazing rate with the Shop and Stay Package. Check in was easy and the man at the desk Skip definitley helped to make our trip.

Our room was spotless, I've stayed in many different places, and I was amazed at not only how clean this room was but how large it was as well. We had a very large bedroom, with a kitchenette, and full bathroom. There was plenty of room to put away clothes, and hang things. The desk was also large, and allowed me to get a great amount of work done with the FREE high speed wireless internet.

We took advantage of the Shop and Stay Package, and upon arriving at the room they had set up two wine glasses, with a variety of different wines, cheeses, and candies for us. The hotel provides a free continental breakfast with a large variety of items. My only suggestion is that we stayed during Passover and one of the people in our party was unable to eat anything because everything was carbohydrate based.

There is always coffee in available in the lobby. As we were there with friends we spent the two nights we were there having coffee, and gabbing for hours in the comfortable lobby. Skip the man at the desk in the hotel made our stay. He gave us great local restaurant suggestions, and lots of advice on the area. He was so neat to talk with and we really enjoyed his company.

I can't wait to go back. Also as a side note I left my ipod in the room, and they were happy to mail it back to me!!

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable Rooms.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    232
    58
    12
    1
See reviews for
199
329
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Port Inn for one night, this week. It was a little difficult to find, as one of the other reviewers mentioned. It is apparent from the outside and from in the rooms that this place is kept up to date. The rooms, though very small, are extremely clean. The bathroom was so clean that everything looked new. The tiles on the floor didn't even have scratches.

The owners are apparently very environmentally concerned as part of there profits go to an environmental organization. There is also a notice within the room saying that if you are staying more than one night, they won't wash your sheets everyday, unless you want them to. They have the same note for the towels.

The Inn had both free wired and wireless internet. The room was equipped with a microwave and a mini refrigerator but it takes a little negotiating to get to them as they are in a corner nook, and again, the rooms are very small. One very big issue we had with the room is that the lock on the door was broken. Also, the walls are thin and you can hear all the traffic on the main road and most foot traffic in front of the room.

The continental breakfast included very fresh and tasty bagels and pastries, not the dry ones you usually get from a continental breakfast.

Also, they do not charge you when you book the room like most hotels do. They wait until you arrive. I did not know this (it doesn't say anywhere on their site) and so I emailed the Inn and inquired about the reservation. I was sent a prompt email explaining that we would be charged upon arrival, though, if we wanted they would charge us right away. I chose to be charged right away and was sent a prompt email verification as well as a regular mail receipt. I also received a courtesy email a week before the reservation, indicating to let them know if we needed anything.

We went on to spend three nights in Boston and were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the Hotel, especially after staying at the Port Inn Motel.

Overall, a great value. Better upkeep, cleanliness, and service than you will ever get at a chain.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Up to Date Fixtures and Decor
  • Disliked — Size of the Room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vegaswedding05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

I am so glad to have "found" the Port Inn. The staff was great. The room amazing and the price just right. It was so nice to stay at a place that felt like "home."

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank epgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

We (husband, daughter, son-in-law) stayed at the Port Inn over Easter weekend. We booked two rooms with the 2-night Shoppers Package rate. Location is very convenient right off the highway, but though our rooms were in the front of the inn it was relatively quiet at night. Rooms were a bit small, but very clean. We got a great gift bag full of shopping discounts, coupons for free beer, wine/cheese/crackers/fruit for a snack.

The continental breakfast is mostly baked goods and apples, but there is a good selection. All day and night there is Seattle's Best coffe, and many types of tea.

All front desk personnel were eager to please, and check in and out was quick and efficient. We were glad we stayed at a locally owned hotel, instead of a national chain. There were cards at the inn to thank us for "buying locally." It was our pleasure

  • Liked — Convenient location to downtown Portsmouth, Friendly Customer Service
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

We just returned from a two day stay at The Port Inn. The staff was incredibly gracious. It is a very quaint hotel, great value and clean as a whistle. I have stayed at high end hotels that are not as well maintained as this property. As some fellow travellers stated, the only problem that we encountered was the noise. The walls are a bit thin and you can easily hear the television of the room next door. We were unlucky in night #1 with some late night watchers; however, the second night, we were relieved that we were next door to some thoughtful folks. I would definitely stay at the hotel again and largely in part to the thoughtful staff.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkingspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

We needed somewhere to stay with easy access from the freeway, following a flight from the UK to Boston, knowing we wouldn’t want to drive the whole way to North Conway after being awake for so many hours! This area was recommended by a colleague as a good midway point and we found and booked this hotel purely based on it’s rating on TA. Firstly we found it difficult to find, but maybe that was because we were tired!!! We are both pretty good usually!
Anyway, on arrival at the hotel we had to wait a few minutes for someone to arrive at the reception desk but the gorgeous warmth and aroma of the coffee in the lobby made this easy! Staff were efficient and friendly, and in no time we were given our room key.

The room was tiny and packed with things (microwave and fridge etc) that made the room hard to move around in but as we were only staying overnight it really didn’t bother us that much. It was also a little cold. The bathroom was however fairly spacious but not quite as clean as I would have liked (previous occupants hair on the floor). There was some traffic noise but we were so tired it hardly mattered!

  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

My Fiancee and I stayed here for a late Valentine's Day shopping retreat.
I called to book the room in advance, and the woman who I booked with was extremely pleasant, and very helpful.
The hotel was fairly easy to get to, and upon arrival, presented very nice on the outside.
The two staff when we checked in were very helpful. They offered us a $10 dollar discount coupon at a local seafood resteraunt(Warren's Seafood), where we ended up having the best calamari ever.
The room was very clean, the bed..........unbelievably comfortable.
The bathroom was spotless, and updated. The tub was fairly large.
Because we aren't able to get away that much, we were up fairly late. Out of curiosity, I went to the main lobby at 10 p.m. to see if there where any refreshments, and they had 3 fresh pots of coffee brewed, with plenty of cream and sugar assortments. The gentleman who worked as the night staff was very amiable.
The continental breakfast was small, but fresh, and good. We were checked out by the woman who had checked us in the morning before. She again was very nice, and helpful.
This is a wonderful hotel!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all fine
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy91279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Portsmouth

Property: Port Inn Portsmouth
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Port Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing