We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here for our anniversary to get away. The hotel was exactly what the website said and the pictures looked like. Which isn't always the case with hotels. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    237
    62
    14
    1
See reviews for
216
342
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wanted to visit a few New England coastal towns on a budget, and the Port Inn was just right for our stay in Portsmouth. Found our room to be clean and comfortable, the location was an easy drive to the center of town. Once we parked the car in the downtown we could easily walk everywhere in this lovely area. We were there in the off season so the pool was closed, but the cozy continental breakfast room was peaceful and well stocked with a variety of tasty pastries and excellent coffee. Good staff at the lobby, friendly and well informed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrunnerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a great job they did updating this traditional Motor lodge type place , into a really nice and clean hotel,. The front desk staff was personable and helpful. The rooms were clean and had brand new furniture. The bathrooms were also updated as well. Comfortable beds! Quiet. Good continental breakfast. The only thing I'd suggest is if they added a couple of small tables and chairs in the lobby area for folks to eat their breakfast. All in all a really good place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friend and I just stayed here for one night. The front desk checkin was efficient and friendly. Our double bedded room although not huge, was recently updated and had everything we needed. Nice decor, refrig and microwave. The bathroom had been remodeled also.
They offer a limited continental breakfast in the lobby for hotel guests, which is a nice touch. There are also coffeemakers in the room. The property was beautifully maintained and I'm glad I didn't choose the other local hotels, which were twice the cost.
It is near the traffic circle , so keep in mind, you will hear traffic sounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My room and bath were immaculate - thick fluffy towels and a very comfortable bed. I had one of their economy rooms, so it was smaller than most, but there was plenty of room for one person. I heard some movements of guests above me, but otherwise, it was very quiet. I slept well. The continental breakfast was good, and the staff were helpful. I will definitely plan to return to the Port Inn if I'm in Portsmouth again. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great motel – we had a wonderful clean room and it was equipped with a fridge and microwave.

The service is great and very helpful. The breakfast is nothing special, just a little bite to get you started.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For what it was, I thought the Port Inn was a great choice. Conveniently located close to Portsmouth NH, our room was clean and well maintained. One of the best motel type accommodations I've stayed in. Recommended if you're in the area and looking for something (fairly) cheap and clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 505 US Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing