We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in a front room facing the highway/parking lot. We were concerned about road noise but it wasn't a factor. We had a good night's sleep, very comfy bed. The room was spotless with updated bath fixtures. The continental breakfast was adequate. Had trouble accessing the free wi-fi. It's just a short drive into town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getaway52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were on a trip across the North East of USA and Canada, taking in the lakes north of Toronto, Michigan, Chicago, and Boston,New Hampshire and Vermont. Prior to taking the trip down from Burlingham, Vt I checked out some reasonably priced places to house our little family in Portsmouth,NH for a couple of days. I found no other place to match the price+quality of this hotel. Staff were friendly and professional, room was ideal (two double beds) and we even had a fridge and cooker (which we didn't use,, as we loved sampling local seafood in 'Surf'). A pleasant stay.
Sometimes the mid-level motels and hotels throw up a nasty suprise or two.. not the Port Inn - delivered exactly what was stated by other guests on Tripadvisor. Please check out my wife's 'stay away' review of Betsy's B&B in Montpellier, VT on the same trip, same price - for the other side of the coin.
There was a small mould problem on the grouting in the bathrooms but apart from that all ok.. Please ignore my service, restaurant and fitness centre ratings.. (why doesn't Tripadvisor have a N/A option)?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am glad we stayed here, and enjoyed the free breakfeast. The rooms are bigger, older, and having a refrigerator, stove, and kitchenette, which I did not expect nor use. Kinda getting dated, but seems to be worth the $120. I would probably check across the street at Hampton or others very close to keep them honest and competitive. If you want new, go somewhere else. If you're okay with older, this is your ticket. You need to go to Strawberry Bank, the waterfront, for anything to see, but it is a limited city. If you like shopping very small shops, there are tons of them by Strawberry Bank (not a bank bank, a bank of a river type). You'll enjoy the area.

Room Tip: What out, you'll hear everyone and their cars and the maids waking up and talking and yaking! No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlsbadJohn_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent a comfortable night here. Nothing fancy but a clean room, a good bed and a decent if small continental breakfast in the morning. The price was fine and matched the value. Just off 95 and near downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JONATHON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to Conneticut and stopped in Portsmouth for the night at the halfway point. I booked the Port Inn online because of it's great tripadvisor rating, and the fact that it was a good $30 cheaper than any of the other hotels.
The rating is deserved! The front desk night clerk was excellent (9/20), got us checked in quickly, told us all the important stuff we needed to know (when breakfast starts, wi-fi info, etc). They have coffee and tea in the lobby at all times which was quite nice. Breakfast starts early, at 6 a.m., allowing people like us who get on the road early to still eat. The Inn is also very easy to find, just off the traffic circle with a big lit sign.
We stayed in a room which was on the first floor with no second story. Bliss! No stomping feet above us! We were facing the highway but couldn't hear a thing, excellent soundproofing.
Best part of all was the cleanliness. Our room was immaculate, and we were impressed. We've already decided that next time we are down in Portsmouth we will stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at this motel just of the traffic circle for one night on the way to Mid coast Maine.
We payed $130.00 with AAA membership and had a second floor king bed nonsmoking room that to me was very clean with a kitchenette.
For one night stay and very accessible to 95 without the noise we would recommend the price.
Most other hotels in the area start at $200.00 for the night we booked. This is not walking distance to downtown but doesn't need to be. Portsmouth has a very large and cheap parking garage in the downtown area.
We also were put in a room in the back of the motel upper level so did not here Rt 1 .
The pool was still open as of Sept 19, very clean, landscaped well and private with chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Garden143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place felt like an old- fashioned motor inn, but with modern amenities: free wi-fi, big flat-screen tv (our suite had two of them), marble countertops, in-room coffee maker, etc. the staff was friendly and knowledgable, the room was impeccably clean, and parking was close. Although this property is close to the highway, our room was very quiet. We stayed on a Saturday night in September, and the place was full. Still, I thought the price was a little high ($170).

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jazzlistener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing