We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveler rating
638
280
74
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
280
74
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated outdoor poolcontinental breakfastbagelsdowntown portsmouthnew englandroad noisecoffee makerhard boiled eggsroom was spotlessgreat place to staywould definitely stay here againfridge and microwaveminute driveone night stayfront desk staffconvenient locationflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Our fencing club stayed at this hotel in January. We are from Florida and the staff made us feel very welcome. The manager helped us with a group rate so that it was affordable for families.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. The lobby always had fresh coffee, hot teas and hot chocolate available.

What a wonderful experience. Don't pass this one up.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bichette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

During my six week stay at The Port Inn the management and staff were consistently friendly and helpful. They responded promptly and courteously to all of my requests. The on-site
laundry was most welcome during my extended stay. The Inn's close proximity to downtown Portsmouth and the Newington Mall was an additional convenience. Although it was autumn, I could still take a few afternoon walks on the beaches that are only a short drive away. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank ELLE2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This is a nice locally owned inn. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are fairly spacious. There was a mini-fridge and a microwave in our room. The walls are a little thin and there was a fair amount of traffic noise but otherwise no negatives. There was complimentary coffee and muffins/bagels in the AM in the lobby. This was a nice, inexpensive one night stay while visiting family over the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nhsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

I read the reviews. This place is the real deal. The inn is very well maintained. Very courtious service. We were a party of 5 and requested a roll away. It was in the room waiting for us all made up and ready when we got there. Very clean well appointed country style looking rooms. much better that you would see in a chain motel. This was the best independent motel/inn we have ever stayed in. The price was more than a bargin. Oh and by the way as a bonus our room also came appointed with a kitchenette, Stove top, Refrig, full size micro. Great place to stay 3mi from Kittery Me.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MrSunshine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

We are an Australian couple who recently spent 4 weeks touring the New England area of USA, as well as the Fundy Coast/PEI/Nova Scotia areas of Canada.
We wanted somewhere to break our journey from Bar Harbor in Maine to Salem in Massachusets and Portsmouth seemed as good a place as any to stop.
The Port Inn's location is pretty ordinary; right on the edge of the Portsmouth Traffic Circle which I suppose can be considered convenient for some but the traffic is really busy. We wanted to walk into town, which the manager told us would take about 15 minutes. I think it must be some time since he's actually walked there. We're good walkers yet it took us 35-40 minutes, plus there is no pedestrian crossing anywhere near the hotel so we had to dodge six lanes of traffic at the start of our walk.
The standard of our room however was very good. Quality fittings and furnishings - nice towels, lovely bed linen and curtains, coffee maker, iron & ironing board, fridge, microwave...and water GLASSES, not paper or plastic cups, which made a nice change.
The windows are also double-glazed so we barely heard the traffic noise.
There is a free continental breakfast which was quite good - a great selection of pastries, bagels, toast etc. However, as we have found in most of USA and Canada, the coffee was so weak it was barely even recognisable as coffee. I have taken to drinking tea instead as I just can't stomach the brown water that passes for coffee in most of North America but sadly in The Port Inn's case the water in the urn (for making tea) was luke-warm and it was impossible to get any flavour out of the tea-bag!
We were happy to find that there was a computer with free internet access. We did not bring our laptop with us on this trip and we found it very difficult to even find internet cafes in some places, which made researching and booking accommodation difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mareepsasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews