We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Can't miss!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

You drive up and think, eh… an old style motor lodge. NOT! Gorgeous, super-clean rooms, excellent service, top-notch pool, fantastic continental breakfast… on a par with better bed and breakfasts! Much much better than some high-end hotels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahoffmansts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 853 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Port Inn for three days in July, using it as a base to visit Portsmouth and the surrounding area.

Check in was easy and the staff were efficient and pleasant throughout our stay, but.....

Having to work during my visit, I made it clear that good quality internet access was a priority. No problem I was assured. Problem there certainly was throughout my visit. My iPad often lost signal and when access could be had it was always very slow. I was sometimes reduced to going to the lobby to get a decent signal. I mentioned this to reception on more than one occasion but didn't get anywhere. Perhaps this is a problem that affects a number of rooms. If so, the motel ought not to be marketed with fast wifi access throughout.

Our room was well furnished with plenty of parking available immediately outside it. A desk with sufficient space to work and plenty of power outlets was helpful. There was a largish flat screen TV with a large number of channels to select from. A coffee maker and bedside radio clock were provided.

The beds were clean and comfortable and the linen seemed to be of good quality. Lighting was plentiful - necessary as our 'economy' room was rather dark.

The bathroom was reasonably well appointed with a shower and small bath. Toiletries were provided, shampoo and conditioner but strangely no shower gel. The bath had slight signs of rust and there were small cracks in the ceiling above it.

A continental breakfast was provided in the lobby and an outside seating area could be used in clement weather. It was in truth nothing out of the ordinary - Travelodge fare, and the decaf coffee was mostly cold for some reason.

A heated, outdoor swimming pool is available but we did not use this.

In terms of location, you can walk to downtown Portsmouth but it takes about 25 minutes. Taxis are available, the fare downtown being about $10, but getting one out and back was not as quick as I would have wished when we did this: a 45 minute wait for our return journey. There are no realistic dining options within walking distance. A diner on the motorway about half a mile away is the nearest option but the absence of pavements and the presence of heavy traffic makes walking there difficult.

Overall, this place struck me as a motel in a marginal location with some nice bells and whistles. On this basis the room rates seem rather high. I am surprised at the positive reviews the motel has had. I suspect that these guests must have stayed in the better, and perhaps more costly, rooms.

Despite the helpful staff; location, internet access problems and pretty ordinary breakfast make this place average at best I think and I am normally a very positive reviewer!

Room Tip: Make sure that you are very clear about your Internet access needs on check in especially if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davidhchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed one night on our way up the coast. It was a good deal and a convenient, freeway-easy location. The host was helpful in telling us about the area and its restaurants.

The breakfast was a basic one with bagels, muffins, yogurt etc, but it sufficed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was a 1 night stay for the location is excellent. The room with king bedm was absolutley clean & pristine. The room 115 was right up front next to our vehicle. A plus for me since we were traveling this was an added convenience. The manager Noreen is calm, quiet and simply grteat. We would hire her tomorrow if she would come to Florida.
The frame construction reveals ather guest noises but that is okay for the convenience of the location and the spotless room. The hotel is is worth $100. night but not the $152.01 we paid. The breakfast was simple and the coffee was great. I understand that they atre the cleanest, best appointed & best location to food & shopping but the pricing was way off the mark. I will stay here again but the pricing should be in the $89.00 to $119.00 raqnge for this property.

Room Tip: The rooms up front are convenient to your vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The place is well located in the city of Portsmouth but you feel like you are in the country with flowers, birds and good air. Room is large with fridge, micro and stove.
Sufficient room to store your purchases (you're near Kittery Outlet...)
Breakfast is served till 11 (good for late sleepers) and good coffee 24 hours.
Good place that I recommend. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel 'billed' itself as in Portsmouth and a 15 minute walk to downtown; the truth is the hotel is on a major highway and is not an easy walk to anywhere- but is closer to 30 min. to walk to downtown Porsmouth. The breakfast is very simple- heavy on pre-packaged pasteries, breads etc. and nothing hot or particularly nutritional (no cold cereal either). The pool is fine; simple, small but functional to splash around in-- not to do laps. The room was clean, but they didn't clean the room the first day and we had to call for service. Even after that the cleaning person only perfunctory made the bed, but didn't replace the empty toilet roll and box of tissues. I heard several people expressing a desire to check in at 2:45 PM and were told that the rooms were not yet ready. That said, if you want to stay near Portsmouth and are looking for a reasonable place than Port Motor Inn is fine.

Room Tip: If you prefer not to be facing the highway, ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCTravelPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a hotel snob, and I had a lot of anxiety booking this hotel after a run-in with rudeness at a well-known and high-end hotel chain on High Street. Small space, yes. Mild traffic noise within earshot, yes. Entry area of carpet a little worn, yes. But once we checked into The Port Inn, my fear of “motel” quickly dissipated. Friendly and efficient staff. Comfortable beds. Immaculate bathroom. Amenities more than adequate. Very nice pool area. Vending and laundry on-site. Diner 0.3 miles from hotel. 8 minutes into the downtown area, where parking is inexpensive – and ample in July. It was a very enjoyable stay, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend one of the rooms on the front of the hotel. We were fortunate (and grateful) to get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 505 US Highway 1 Bypass, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175 (Formerly Port Inn Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $97 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Hotel Portsmouth
Port Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing