We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$168
$161
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$219
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$197
$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
$299
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveler rating
625
272
70
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
272
70
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated outdoor poolcontinental breakfastbagelsdowntown portsmouthnew englandroad noisecoffee makerhard boiled eggsroom was spotlessgreat place to stayfridge and microwavewould definitely stay here againone night stayminute driveconvenient locationfront desk staffflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 982 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the Port Inn about 5 or so years ago and returned for a night on our way back from Bar Harbor. Good sized room, good TV, okay products (but no lotion), fairly good choice for continental breakfast with a little patio outside to eat at in nice weather. I still haven't used their pool but they do have one. And for those of you who don't want to worry about driving and parking in Portsmouth, it's just a 20 min walk into the thick of things. A good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The Port Inn is not an “inn” in the usual sense of the word, but a hotel. Nonetheless, the room provided a warm, charming ambience that reminded me of inns I have visited in the past. Our room was clean and in excellent condition, and included a kitchenette and dining table. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. I didn’t have a chance to use the pool and patio, but they did look inviting. The Port is located not more than a five-minute drive from downtown Portsmouth, so is a convenient option if you want to visit the downtown area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked for 7 nights ended up staying 8, all based on their TA reviews. They really do measure up in our opinion, as a no-fuss straight up motel style inn - and they kindly upgraded us to one of the two suites that they have (on the upper level). This was big, two rooms, one with a kitchenette, two TVs, a very comfortable king bed and some very fine linen for a 3 star motel. It also had just about the quietest A/C I've found and we've stayed in some pretty fancy places. On the down side the decor is rather blah, and you take your breakfast in what is still really the lobby, with insufficient seating and low tables. It's muffins, bagels, croissants and a varied bunch of other sweet breads and fruit, yoghurts etc, with ad lib coffee or tea, and all of the food is replenished at least up to 11 am. but it is the staff that (as usual) make this worthwhile - clearly a good working team as their attention to guests was genuine and seemed to reflect their pleasure at working there. If you want quick access to the I-95 as well as to Portsmouth, this is the one to go for. The have a heated pool too but we didn't use it. They also have a laundry room for guests.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet - there is some construction work on a site to the west of the Inn (probably until the end of summer 2012) but we didn't hear a thing - but if you're a light sleeper ask for a quiet room - I'm sure they'll advise you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

These folks really should offer a course in how to run a great motel. (I can name a few places that need the class!) Clean rooms attractively furnished, close to the highway but still quiet, a very helpful front desk and 24 hr. drinks and snacks in the well-appointed lobby. I was pleased. Have to mention that I did get a few insect bites while in the room. Too cold for mosquitoes. Didn't see any sign back home of insects. Reported this to management. This is a most difficult problem to solve for any hotel, even the best. Yes, I would book another stay there.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the back if a quieter environment is needed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ionfacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very helpful front desk, very clean rooms, great location! A+ Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdohertyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews