We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Holly Springs, Nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Good value, good service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I am a frugal traveler and this Motel 6 gave me exactly what I was looking for. A clean comfortable room with no frills and no extra expense. This was the only lodging I could find in the Portsmouth area for under $100 per night and I was extremely pleased with the result. If you need fancy amenities, this is not for you, but it was perfect for me.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw27540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    63
    34
    41
See reviews for
73
92
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way up to Portland Maine. The location was good and the room was clean, if a bit small. We didn't expect too much for the price and were pleasantly surprised by the very friendly and helpful front desk staff and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The only real drawback was the bed....it was WAY way too hard. I mean, it was evil.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

I have stayed at this Motel6 nine times since 2004 and i'm again glad I did. It's a basic hotel with nothing extra but it's the best value for the price in Portsmouth. Rooms were recently renovated. It's nice to have a pool too. The only down side was that they've removed Ice Machines on the upper floors, meaning many trips up and down to get ice. Overall, I recommend this hotel for a good price, location and value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat-newengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Yes, you'll save money - but is it worth it? And what's with charging for internet access?

The check in people were very nice. The shower was hot and good water pressure.

We had our dog along and he immediately ducked under the bed and pulled out a carcass - lots of little bones and yuck. And we'll just hope it was chicken. No surprise that the desk / vanity was all sticky.

The blankets were like paper towels. The pillows were smooshed; and the bath towels were thread bare.

Room temp was too warm and we finally opened a window to cool it down. Walls are very thin, and we could hear other guests.

We will never again stay in a Motel 6. It's an experience we'd like NOT to relive. At the end of our stay, we turned in a review of the room to the front staff. With something this extreme, you would think someone would have contacted us and apologized for what we walked into. Never heard anything. Wish I had taken photos so I could post them here now.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warytravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
325 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

I wanted a basic bed, clean bathroom with a shower, quiet and easy to get to after flying in from the west coast. I got what I wanted so I WAS VERY SATISFIED. Room was CLEAN, BATHROOM was CLEAN and bed was in good condition. It was easy to get to downtown Portsmouth so I would recommend it if this is what you need. You can easily spend more but if you don't spend much time in the room then this is the place! I would stay here again!

  • Liked — Easy to find. Easy to get to DOWNTOWN sites!
  • Disliked — No shared computer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

Agree with all others. Friendly, quick, clean and short drive from the centre of town. MUCH cheaper than all the otther motels / hotels around the area and probably just as good.

  • Liked — Great price!
  • Disliked — Found directions hard to follow (was late at night and dark though!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodent81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Very good place. Good staff and good ameneties for the price.
Shopping mall near from the hotel and laundrymat in the hotel. Outside pool too.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.5 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Property: Motel 6 Portsmouth
Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Motel-6, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing