We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good value stay”
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I have stayed at this Motel6 nine times since 2004 and i'm again glad I did. It's a basic hotel with nothing extra but it's the best value for the price in Portsmouth. Rooms were recently renovated. It's nice to have a pool too. The only down side was that they've removed Ice Machines on the upper floors, meaning many trips up and down to get ice. Overall, I recommend this hotel for a good price, location and value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat-newengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

Yes, you'll save money - but is it worth it? And what's with charging for internet access?

The check in people were very nice. The shower was hot and good water pressure.

We had our dog along and he immediately ducked under the bed and pulled out a carcass - lots of little bones and yuck. And we'll just hope it was chicken. No surprise that the desk / vanity was all sticky.

The blankets were like paper towels. The pillows were smooshed; and the bath towels were thread bare.

Room temp was too warm and we finally opened a window to cool it down. Walls are very thin, and we could hear other guests.

We will never again stay in a Motel 6. It's an experience we'd like NOT to relive. At the end of our stay, we turned in a review of the room to the front staff. With something this extreme, you would think someone would have contacted us and apologized for what we walked into. Never heard anything. Wish I had taken photos so I could post them here now.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBeWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I wanted a basic bed, clean bathroom with a shower, quiet and easy to get to after flying in from the west coast. I got what I wanted so I WAS VERY SATISFIED. Room was CLEAN, BATHROOM was CLEAN and bed was in good condition. It was easy to get to downtown Portsmouth so I would recommend it if this is what you need. You can easily spend more but if you don't spend much time in the room then this is the place! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Agree with all others. Friendly, quick, clean and short drive from the centre of town. MUCH cheaper than all the otther motels / hotels around the area and probably just as good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodent81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Very good place. Good staff and good ameneties for the price.
Shopping mall near from the hotel and laundrymat in the hotel. Outside pool too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Motel 6 in Portsmouth N.H. is a great place to stay Close to everything around,you can even walk to some shopping centers if you like. Its a Friendly place to stay and the staff are all excellent. its a Dog friendly hotel.the place is spotless and approx. $ 50.00 a night cheeper than most around. I will be Back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johgnboyila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Booking a Motel6, we didn’t expect much, BUT we were VERY impressed
Reception staff were VERY attentive
Room VERY clean
Pillows weren’t very deep and bed not too comfortable, but not so bad that we didn’t sleep.
Location was GREAT for Kittery and Portsmouth and driving through the back of the car lot takes you to many shops in malls.
Pool was warm ‘enough’ for us – being an outdoor pool, it could have been warmer, but it was 90 degrees so a welcome cooling
Car Parking was a little tight. Didn’t seem to be enough, however, there was a hug Winnebego parked crossways in 8 spaces and it appeared that there were some people ‘living’ in their MPV, in the lot!!

Apart from the odd inconsiderate guest making too much noise in corridor we had a great stay.

Perhaps we should try to ‘spread the word’ from my 5 year old .. “why can’t people speak quietly in hotel corridors and their children keep making noises to wake me up” – out of the mouths of babes my friends! She insists on making no noise at all in corridors .. spread the word.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $69 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing