We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bugs, Mildew, and Unprofessional Staff!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bugs, Mildew, and Unprofessional Staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Upon my arrival with my 3 young kids, the front desk staff said my room number outloud. This is a major breach of safety as a woman traveling alone. Second, the room door was impossible to get into. I was traveling with a friend and one of us had to use the key while the other made several attempts to get into the room. Third - the mildew on the shower curtain was beyond belief and the ring of grossness in the toilet shows evidence that they don't use toilet brushes. On the first night at 8:15pm Roy from the front desk called to say we were playing ball in the room. I advised him that my kids were asleep up until the point that he called the room and that we did not have a ball in the room. He continued to say that I needed to keep my kids quiet and that we should not play ball as it is keeping the people below us up. I found that rude and unprofessional. If he had come to my room or gone to the room below me he wouldn't have heard a thing. Finally, by 6 year old woke up on the second morning with bed bug bites all over her wrists and legs. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk he didn't say anything. He must have known there was a problem. This was Roy again. None of the staff wore uniforms, or name tags. There was toothpaste on my "clean" towels and hair on the tub.

STAY AWAY and save yourself from this horrendous place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dherrerasrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    63
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
91
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am surprised to see the Motel 6 Portsmouth ranked so low out of all the hotels in Portsmouth! I have stayed at this hotel previously and did not hesitate to book for this year's trip. We booked a queen room, which was fairly sized and very clean.

The room did not have a refrigerator or microwave - but at about $75/night we could not complain! Our only real complaint about the quality of our stay was the bed. It was rather stiff and not as comfortable as we would have hoped. However, with our staying being in the middle of a heatwave, we were more concerned with the excellent air conditioning system in the room!

The grounds of the hotel are very well kept, the staff are friendly and approachable, and the hotel is conveniently located directly across the street from Fox Run Mall and a handful of restaurants. There is a Wal-Mart very closeby and a great little laundromat just around the corner.

The hotel is pet-friendly and does not charge a fee for pet stays, which is refreshing. They advertise themselves as the "original pet-friendly chain" and they stick true to it. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bee902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensbury,ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here as a last minute decision to stay overnight in Portsmouth. That was a mistake. The rooms are terrible. Carpet was gross, sticky, dirty stains. Blankets had cigarette burn holes in them. One blanket was absolutely disgustingly dirty. We threw it off the bed, at least the sheets appeared clean. The beds themselves are awful. The cheapest mattress you could find I guess. You could feel every spring and every time you moved it squeaked like crazy. Could here dogs barking in another room at 4:30a.m. Real nice right. Towels feel like sandpaper. Will not be staying here ever again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobydoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Clean rooms, quiet area, friendly staff and at a price that allows you to enjoy everything the area has to offer. One of the best Motel 6 to my knowledge. Big shopping mall and restaurants right in front but since it is separated by a double avenue and a row of trees, it is quiet even during the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muncie, in
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Soap in the shower from previous guest. Something on the mirror in the room. When I mentioned this at the front desk the only response was a shake of the head. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marino1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt airy north carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Tiny little roomies no shampoo no razors.no nuthin just a crash pad and kinda crummy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestconsumer411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

No frills at all. Bring your own shampoo, etc. However, clean, neat, friendly staff, easy to drive in and out. Fine for an overnight. There is coffee in the morning in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Property: Motel 6 Portsmouth
Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Motel-6 and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel Six
Portsmouth Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing