We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around hotel with convenient location for some simple fun-already have plans to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
southern coastal NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great all around hotel with convenient location for some simple fun-already have plans to return.”
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Our goal was simply to spend twenty-four hours away from home where we could pretend we went away to a warm climate to escape the dreary end of the winter blues with the grandchildren. Naturally this included finding a place with an indoor pool that was pretty close to home and had good value in this economic time we find ourselves in. We found all of the above and more here.

Everything was clean and shiny and comfortable from the beds and bathrooms to the pool area and gym to the large breakfast room. The room we were in was a bit narrow, but as I said - very clean and tastefully decorated. They upgraded our room at no extra cost being a member of AAA. The porta-crib they brought in and set up for us looked brand new! No musty odors at the pool, no mold seen anywhere! Pool hours were from 7 AM till 10 PM! We liked that the pool only went to 5 feet deep as our oldest grandson is seven and that was plenty long and deep for our comfort level. The hot tub was a bit hotter than we're used to, but none the less enjoyable. And there was plenty of room and table/chairs set up for our group of 4 and many others had we needed to share the space - we had it blissfully, almost exclusively to ourselves for all the hours and time periods we were there.

The staff was very friendly and more than helpful and attentive and there were soooo many choices for breakfast foods at the complimentry continental breakfast. Aside from the usual bagels, muffins, fruit, and cereals, there were hardboiled eggs, yogurt, toast, toasting pastries, and small danishes. No one was ready for lunch for many hours. Also, checkout was not until noon and that gave us a leisurely morning with 2 more hours of pool time etc.

Great place and people. We already are planning another overnighter just for fun and pool time during April school vacation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestnannyjanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    234
    128
    75
    38
See reviews for
242
248
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, MA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Just spent a weekend with my husband in the lovely city of Portsmouth. The BW Wynwood had polite, helpful staff at every turn. Our room was well appointed, with excellent lighting, a good-sized refrigerator and a microwave. The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Continental breakfast room was large and inviting. The breakfast choices were more than adequate and there was a staff member there who was very helpful. Restaurant recommendations were spot on. All in all, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Nice Best Western hotel. Plenty of free parking. Greeted by smiling friendly staff on check-in. Rooms were reasonably sized, nicely furnished and clean. Complimentary breakfast provided which was adequate. The hotel has two swimming pools - indoor and outdoor. The kids tried the indoor one but it was quite crowded at the time and the water seemed a little warm and cloudy. Excellent supply of guest laundry facilities. The hotel is nicely situated about a five minute drive from downtown Portsmouth. Overall a good hotel that I would recomend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed in one of the suites in the tower, and the accomodation was truly remarkable. The suite consisted of two huge rooms, each with a TV and phone, with a king-sized bed in the bedroom and a sleep sofa in the sitting room. The bathroom had an oversized whirlpool tub.
But one of the best features was the full kitchen, including a microwave oven, two-burner cooktop, a full-sized refrigerator with icemaker, and even a dishwasher. Add to that the internet connection, and the suite was suitable for living in for any length of time.
Not much of a view, unless you enjoy watching the close calls at the traffic circle below. But the location is excellent, no more than 15 minutes from any of the Portsmouth attractions, including Strawbery Banke and Water Country, and even the outlets in Kittery, Maine, with York Beach only about a half hour's drive away.
We didn't have much contact with the staff, but the housekeeping person was friendly, and so was the member of the maintenance crew I happened to engage in conversation on the elevator with one time.
We didn't have a chance to go in the pool, but we looked it over and it seemed okay; it's one of those with a maximum depth of 5 feet, but it's a decent size.
The only real disadvantage was that the restaurant (a Bickford's) which is attached to the hotel was shut down, I'm not sure whether it is temporarily or permanently. The hotel did, however, provide a continental breakfast which is better than most, including not only the usual muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, Danish, etc., but also peeled hard-boiled eggs. The two-person staff in the breakfast room are quite helpful, and they work diligently to keep all the food items stocked.
So, I can't speak for the quality of any of the single rooms in the hotel, but if you're springing for a suite, I can recommend it highly.

  • Liked — The amenities of the suite.
  • Disliked — The lack of an on-site restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Center, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

A great choice if staying in Portsmouth. Even though the hotel faces a busy traffic circle, it wasn't bothersome. Two nice pools, good breakfast, clean rooms, we enjoyed the family suite. Convenient to shopping, restaurants, attractions, and not too far from downtown.

  • Liked — Family suites were roomy and clean!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaMaJoPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We spent two nights here and enjoyed the hotel. It is going through the final phases of a massive renovation and the restaurant was closed for this reason. The included Continental breakfast was adequate but nothing special. We saw two different types of rooms and both were recently remodeled and very nice. The Superior room was very large and had everything you would wish for, including refrigerator and free Internet access. We were upgraded to a Suite room that was fantastic. It included a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bath with jacuzzi tub. The staff couldn't have been more helpful during our stay, especially the front desk who helped us out with directions and recommendations for dining. We found the location of the hotel to be better than expected, it was literally 5 - 10 minutes from everything we needed or wanted. We chose this hotel because it had an outdoor pool that most in the area don't have. While it is small, it is more than adequate. Overall we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Outdoor Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterbury ct.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

stayed 4th of july weekend, got aarp rate which they extended for one more day on the weekend. resturaunt was closed, but a nice breakfest served in the morning. two computers in lobby, two pools and nice clean, quiet room. minutes to hampton beach, and discount tickets to water country, saved 8 dollers per person . would stay again.

  • Liked — quiet room/ nice staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zekeWaterburyCt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing