We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is sad that a nice hotel has to be located right off the Portsmouth circle which made it dangerous to get to. We were almost hit by a speeding car coming from a side street. The hotel itself is fine, rooms clean and staff friendly and knowledgeable. There was a restaurant next door so we did not get a free breakfast as I had expected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 804 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is way overpriced and I'm actually surprised if they get returning guests. The pool area is way too hot and humid.....could hardly stand to be in there. The room was dated and the hotel staff at checkout were not knowledgeable or overly friendly. Thankfully we were only there for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crivett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location, right of the 95, enter just off the Portsmouth circle. Clean. Decor a bit dated. Priced well for the location. Beds comfy, staff friendly, rooms quiet. No real wow factor here, basic rooms that fit the bill. I've stayed here many times and keep coming bad for the price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mumsieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is an awful, dirty unpleasant place. We have stayed at Best Westerns across the country and have never experienced anything like this. The staff was rude, the rugs were filthy and the room smelled.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 5,956,256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

I am so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. We appreciate you staying in Best Westerns all over the country but maybe you should review some of them as well. If you had a bad experience at our hotel that should not stop you from writing good things every once in awhile about other locations. A profile that only has 1 review but has visited 336 cities is very concerning. Even noticing that of the 336 cities or attractions visited they happened to be input over the course of 3 days. It almost seems as if the profile and review were possibly written without any concrete details in an attempt to slander a competitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Be prepared to climb stairs or walk a long distance to many rooms. Very outdated Air Conditioning that hardly worked and located in back of room near bathroom. Terribly outdated bad beds. A very deceiving appearance since there is only one elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We offer many staircases as options for our guest but we do have 2 elevators in our hotel. One elevator services our tower building which is 6 stories tall and houses all suites with separate living rooms and bedrooms for guests. The other elevator services the main building which is 3 stories tall and houses our superior hotel rooms. I apologize if the air in your room did not meet your needs. We all hope you will return so we can try again to offer you a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night in July before Nascar races. None of our special requests of (quiet room, extra coffee, towels and pillows) were accommodated. Our room was placed between the laundry and pool area. The ac in our room did not work, it was so hot inside we were forced to open window on the ground floor in order to get some air movement inside. The hotel staff seemed bothered anytime we had request so we just dealt with it. The bed felt like a pile of rocks with cushions on it.. I stayed awake most of the nigh as sleeping was impossible. Next door is Holiday Inn, stay there.. its well worth the money.

Room Tip: I wish I had some, all of our requests were ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel in my opinion is not worth the money for a leisure/vacation trip. was fairly close 5min. to most attractions. hallways are hot! air is hard to regulate in rooms, beds are small. no fan in bathrooms. no free breakfast. wifi is horrible. The good: pool & hot tub are nice. seedy area. adult shop almost next door. Roundabout restaurant located on property has excellent food at good prices. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DMitch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#9 of 17 in Portsmouth
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Byp, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $89 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our Plus rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our Plus and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing