We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
New Bedford, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would definitely stay there again, large room, comfortable room. Friendly staff. Very cute diner attached. Fridge in room, small recliner, flat screen tv all the comforts of home. Right off the highway easy on easy off. Great stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your quick synopsis of your room and your headline. We try hard to provide a nice clean place to stay for our guest visiting the Portsmouth area. All of our staff enjoys their work in the hospitality industry and are naturally friendly. We hope you will be able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    220
    125
    72
    36
See reviews for
228
232
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on 2 different occasions. Both times now, I have found the staff very friendly and outgoing. I have noticed the rooms have been updated since my last stay. The rooms were great, the beds comfortable and I love having four pillows! My son absolutely loved the pool. Great location, easy accessibility to everything Portsmouth, Kittery and York, ME. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We are happy you were so pleased with both of your stays at our hotel. Our staff is definitely an asset to our hotel. They are friendly and knowledgeable about all of the great attractions in the greater Portsmouth area. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. I am personal happy we were able to provide you with the number of pillows you love. If you ever need more pillows or do not like a particular pillow please feel free to call our Front Desk any time and we will do our best to fix the situation for you. We have rotated our bed stock and we are trying the latest and greatest in pillow top mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were on our way to Maine and pulled off the highway to find a place to spend the night. We couldn't have found a better place for the night. The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet. I would stay there again when we travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rfkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for pulling off the highway at exit 5 in New Hampshire on Interstate 95 and choosing our hotel. We appreciate all of your kind words. Our staff tries very hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. All of us enjoy our work in the hospitality industry very much. Thank you also for noticing how hard our associates work to make the rooms clean and comfortable. We hope you get a chance to travel to our area again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

And I want my money back! But I suspect no one is getting anything back (sorry, 1979).

I do not understand how this place gets such good reviews from TripAdvisor. Its in an odd location off a rotary not particularly close to anything worthwhile.

Not an attractive building from the outside or inside. The room itself was dingy. The decor outdated. I guess the bed was a queen size but seemed kind of small and if the bed spread could talk it would ask to be put out of its misery. The room had one of those old phones with the really heavy handset and one of those big red lights that light when you have a message (remember those?!?). Other than the HDTV, this was the hotel room that time forgot.

Check in was slow, check out was slower. A large group of guests were hanging out on the grassy area outside the indoor pool drinking...they were not a welcoming committee ...or sight.

I could go on but I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy our accommodations. We respectfully disagree with your statements about hotel not being particularly close to anything worthwhile. Our hotel is close to downtown, just five minutes away and in the other direction we are 5 minutes from New England’s Largest Water Park, Water Country. We are just seven minutes from the New Hampshire beaches, we are just eight minutes from the Outlets of Kittery, Maine and we are just 15 minutes from the University of New Hampshire. All of the attractions of the New Hampshire/Maine seacoast are just a short distance away. We are located very conveniently to I-95 for easy on - off but we are far enough from the highway with are excellent windows you can not hear the traffic. Portsmouth is a beautiful town in all seasons and is fantastic to walk around any time of year. Our hotel décor is well received by others as noted in trip advisor reviews but we can understand the style may not be for everyone. We do have the latest and great for our televisions as well as having our rooms be hardwired for the internet in addition to the free wi-fi. We hope you will visit the area again. Our hotel does not require payment for parking or have a valet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Efficient check-in with knowledgeable front desk staff about the area. Great room overlooking a little green area. King size bed with lovely bedding. Super double jacquizi bath. Walkable into Portsmouth. Free internet, fridge and microwave. Would definitely rcommend this hotel. We booked hotwire and paid £51.00. Maybe the furniture a little old but well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Not all folks are as energetic as you considering our hotel walk-able into Portsmouth. We are on the edge of the downtown residential neighborhoods that you need to walk through to get to the more commercial area. Some of our guests prefer to drive downtown and park then take the time to stroll around our historic town of Portsmouth. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed this past weekend July 6
Rooms are average and quite dark with old style beams on the ceiling and there is too much furniture in a dbl. there is a cabinet just outside the bathroom door with a fridge and microwave which you can easily walk in to as you exit the bathroom.. The bathroom is quite small. Updated with granite that was ok, but the floor is granite as well as the walls were different shades and patterns that were very dark (black) The wallpaper was peeling off the walls below the sink. The Fiberglas tub had a large crack on the bottom. If you wanted to soak in the tub you would have pinched your [--]. Taking a shower, black water and dirt came out of this open crack when you were standing near it.. Water must have been leaking into that area for quite some time as it appeared they must have tried to fix the crack without any success.
Told the front desk guy and he said, "oh my, we'll put that on our repair list", really!!
I didn't ask for any type of discount, but providing good service you would think they might offer you something.....not!
Walking out one of the doors toward the rear parking area bushes hung over the walk way. Gutters were hanging off the back of the building.
These rooms are $65/night at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarvardPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We understand your concerns and will to our best to change the aspects you didn't like in the rooms. Some guests have commented how they like the old style wooden beams on the ceiling thinking it adds some architectural interest. The crack in the tub you mentioned has been repaired. I am sorry you didn't like the choices of granite in the bathroom. Our designer will be disappointed to hear you thought it was too dark but others have commented how good they think it looks to them. We hope you are willing to give us another chance to exceed your expectations when you visit our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were there for a hockey tournament from thru. 4thjuly to the 8th of july2013. we had half of our team that the air conditioning was not working. our door swipe fail to work twice we had a water leak from the upstairs into our room, no air conditioning in the hallways the indoor pool was just a joke and the outdoor pool was run down. Room / cleaning service came around at 5:00pm so the hole day nothing was done in your room no towels at pools internet was slow. So going there with two young kids is terrible. would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in main more there. and its just accross the bridge 5min drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in the New Hampshire Area. We all feel bad you were unhappy with the accommodations and the kids did not do well in the hockey tournament. I can only imagine the frustration of traveling so far to participate in a hockey tournament, losing all of the games and not being happy with the hotel. We all wish you and your team the best of luck in the future for your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing