We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Cheap Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed January 8, 2013

PRO - My boyfriend & I wanted to get away for the New Year. The room was cheap & very close to downtown. Debbie at the front desk was super helpful. The decor was nice and good lighting once all the lamps were on. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves.

CON - Upon arrival, our whirlpool tub was dirty. Luckily it just washed down the drain, looked like ashes even though we had a no smoking room. Our room unfortunately was on the 1st floor, I didn't really feel safe. But they were nice enough to get us a room with the tub. So I guess it's a give & take.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MOONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

I am happy that we were able to get you a whirlpool room for a reasonable price! Only the first floor rooms have a whirlpool tub for two other than our suites, which also have a separate bedroom and full kitchen! We feel that our first floor rooms are very safe due to the extra dowl we have on the slider. I am sorry that your tub wasn't properly cleaned; I shall discuss that with our Executive Housekeeper so that our future guests won't have that issue!

Deb is always very accommodating and has a wonderful way about her....we love her and so do all of our guests!

Please do come again....we may even be able to upgrade you to one of our suites, pending availabililty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 800 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

to me this hotel wasn't considered a BW Plus. i order a superior room thinking i would get some upgraded features. only got a fridge and microwave, nothing too superior. The heater could either be turned on high or low, there was no automatic thermostat which made it hare to control the temperature. the decor seem out of date. the pool was nice not too cold. the hot tub was fun. ive stayed at many different bw and this one didnt seem very plus, ive had the same experience at lower rated lower priced hotels. the dinner next door has some awesome food. overall the hotel is decent and i would return, but don't think your getting anything exciting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jeffv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

I am sorry that you do not think of this hotel as a PLUS property. If you ever have an issue at any hotel when you check in to a room, don't hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty so that the problem you may be experiencing can be resolved. I do think our pricing is very fair for this area. On many occasions, we are able to honor free upgrades. If we are fortunate to have you as our guests next time, please ask to speak with either myself or the Director of Sales so that we can make it "right" for you! I'd appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

For the price and location, this is one of my favorite hotels to stay at. The rooms are very well put together and always clean. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is a pretty reasonable size. Everyone at the front desk is super nice and welcoming. The hotel can be a bit confusing, depending on where your room is, but they always provide a map and are very cooperative when it comes to your needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thanks for your comments! We built this hotel in three sections. Numbering was a challenge back when we opened the Main Hotel....just remember that the "90s" section is in the tower where the suites are located. Happy that the map you get helps out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

booked 1 night, should have stayed longer, no issues. Clean bed/room/halls/pool/workout room. Good/excellent diner next door. Well lit parking. No hassles check in/out. Worth the extra $$. Wife happy.

Room Tip: Ground floor=no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us! Good diner and a hassle-free stay only means good business! Did you try any of the Diner's pastries? We have a great Pastry Chef right on the property who makes scrumptious desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DALLAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one night with two kids - overall positive experience.

Front desk staff was very friendly. Indoor pool/hot tub were simple but nice and clean. Room was updated and clean and had everything we needed - even a fridge and microwave.

The only weird thing was the thermostat. It worked fine, it just didn't have any sort of temperature gauge to let it turn off and on to keep a steady temperature in the room. It seemed to either blow out hot air or cool air - so it got a little toasty in our room overnight. Not really a huge deal though.

About a 5 minute drive to the downtown area, and right off the highway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eemmllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Glad you were able to join us. Each section of the building has a different set up for heat or air, but for the most part, the dial is set for high or low....please, next time, ask us to come and show you the settings. I am truly sorry that this was an issue for you....not fun to be too hot. I do hope you return to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed one night before a business meeting. The room was very nice, clean, and well appointed. It even had a recliner, which was an unexpected, homey touch. The diner next door made it easy to get dinner and breakfast (they have a pulled pork grilled cheese sandwich that is pretty amazing). As an added bonus, the hotel is about 5 minutes from the outlets in Kittery, Maine, so I even took a little time to do some shopping. Great hotel for a business stop or as a home base for a shopping weekend.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Rudymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

So glad you were able to mix business with pleasure and found the location of this hotel so convenient for you! Yes, the diner continues to please people! The pulled pork is one of their specialties. Hopefully you had room for dessert as their onsite pastry chef does wonders! Thanks for staying with us! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Byp, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $88 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our Plus rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our Plus and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing