We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Right off of the roundabout--which can be scary. Room was great, modern, clean and well equipped with frog and microwave. Got and upgrade based upon being either a club member or CAA member. Front staff were great with giving us local directions and what to see. They also had a local map to provide.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and area! We are very fortunate to have the front desk crew that we have. And everyone here thinks Portsmouth is THE place to be at any time of year! Thanks for taking the time to comment. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 791 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night in Aug on our way to Maine. It is convenient to the rotary and Rte 95 (right on it actually). Last year we stayed at the Holiday Inn next door - not a great stay (See review - OK in an emergency). The Best Western was better - we asked for and got a room in the back (not facing the roads) - but had to wait for it. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. It being hot the functional airconditioning was good. The staff was OK. The hotel was completely full - putting a strain on their systems. More than once I had to wait at the desk while the desk staff fielded phone calls. So, the hotel was OK - but I think a bit expensive at about $200 - this may relate to their being full. I usually get a state Gov't employee rate but this was more.
The real problem was not the price - and was not even the hotel's fault. We have eaten in what was the hotel's restaurant many times and liked it. However, it is now a space rented to a restaurant/diner. We went in, it was loud and had blaring 50's music, not our cup of tea after so many hours on the road. We were seated next to a counter - we asked to be moved to a quieter spot. They put us back by the bar - it took quite a while to get a glass of wine. It was quieter but also too warm - and the bartender was working waitstaff. We left after the glass of wine. Maybe if it were less crowded - but we did not like the look of the menu.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back - or get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBTCville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

I am sorry that your most recent stay wasn't a great one. We were definitely busy this past season, so I do appreciate your comments about the phones ringing off the hook! We do try to accommodate everyone in a timely manner, but sometimes it can get crazy! Please don't ever hesitate to ask for the Manager on Duty when you have a concern or issue. We like to resolve things before a guest walks out the door! The Roundabout Diner does have a theme, which includes those 50s tunes. Many folks like it, but again, if the place was too warm, I can understand why you walked out after that glass of wine.
Perhaps I will find out who you are so we can offer you something to return to us! Many thanks for your comments. We will try harder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was referred to this hotel by another chain hotel in the area that I'd picked at random on a drive up to Maine. I hadn't made reservations which, as it turned out, was a mistake as a couple of other hotels in the area were booked. Best Western, luckily, had a room, and I was pleasantly surprised by accommodations. For a reasonable rate I was given a large, comfortable room (with free internet). The hotel is located very close to the highway. I didn't eat at the adjacent restaurant, but did have the free lobby coffee that was surprisingly good. The staff I dealt with were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We're happy that we were able to accommodate you at the last minute! That's not always the case as many people are discovering that we have a great product at a reasonable rate.
Thanks for spreading the good word ..... we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our final night of a nine day vacation found us at the Best Western Plus in Portsmouth, NH. This was a city where none of us had visited and our first hint as to the nature of the hotel was the desk clerk's willingness to provide us with a view of places to visit and restaurants we might enjoy.
Following a painless check-in, we went to our rooms to find them clean as a whistle, with all the expected amenities.
Breakfast at the '50s themed restaurant was everything we had hoped for!
A return to Portsmouth would find us checking in again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhalfdime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

So glad you enjoyed Portsmouth as much as we all do! The Roundabout Diner continues to "Wow"! people with their awesome breakfast! That's probably why the Phantom Gourmet has given them such great reviews!
Come on back anytime....we'll be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Began and ended the summer at this hotel- spent Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends here. Very clean & comfortable. The outdoor pool area was well kept & clean, as was the indoor pool and whirlpool. The fitness room had working machines- we often encounter less maintained areas- but everything here worked! All the staff- from front desk to housekeeping were helpful & friendly. I love the all-day coffee and the computers in the lobby. The front desk folks are interested in your stay- and are ready to offer suggestions for restaurants. We came to read, rest and relax- and we did!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btheatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Glad you were able to relax and enjoy what we have to offer! Do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I decided last minute (a few days before) to go away for the Labor Day weekend. Knowing that it might not be so easy to find a decent room at a decent proce we were lucky when I stumpbled upon this place online. I did use AAA but the regular rates were not that bad since oftentime prices are bumped up for Holidays.

It's very easy to get too, right off of a rotary on the Route 1 bypass. No, it's not overlooking any water, nor is there are view, but we knew that going in. The rooms are clean, and the bed wasn't too bad. There was a large whirlpool tub in the bathroom too, but, unfortunately we never did get to use it.

The location is very close to downtown, a five min drive or so, and parking downtown is not the easiest, but if you get into the garages before they are full-they are the cheapest parking garage I have ever parked in at 75 cents an hour.

The hotel does not serve any type of breakfast but does have good, hot coffee available all day that is included. There is a diner attached that had quite a large menu, but we never ate there so I can't say how the food is.

The pools abnd hot tub both looked very clean, but with our short stay didn't get to use them.

The place was very clean, AC was fine, room was a bit dark with the lighting since we faced the parking lot and could only open the blinds for part of the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

As a note, we did notice that there is an overflow parkig lot with plenty of space so it's a great place if you have a trailer or boat, that you need to park overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

You can write our ads anytime! Thanks for the kind words I must say, though, I was surprised when you only gave us 3 stars for quality of room and value. We try harder! We'll keep at it to improve!!!! I do appreciate your detailed description of the hotel for folks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Superficially, things look nice here. Desk staff were friendly and check-in was smooth on this busy holiday weekend, and the lobby was inviting with plenty of chairs and light, and there were 2 computers and 1 printer available (there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel). However, I found 2 straight pins on the carpet right in the middle of our room, suggesting the room had not been vacuumed. There were hairs on the bathroom counter, the ice bucket had remnants of dried, sticky red juice inside, and there were stains on the bedspread and bed skirt. We saw a youngish girl cleaning the room near us the next morning; actually we heard her before we saw her, since she was playing the radio in the room with the door open while she cleaned. Especially troublesome was the fact that our door required considerable slamming and pushing to ensure it was closed. In fact, when we first went into the room, all it took was a push on the door to enter - our key card wasn't required :-(. Because of all this, we didn't leave anything valuable or irreplaceable in the room - not for fear of staff taking them, but anyone at all, since the hotel is essentially wide open. We thought of telling staff about this, but after already seeing the staff's laxity about cleanliness, figured there'd be the same laxity about closing the door properly. I feel a little bad that we didn't say all this to the manager before we left, but we didn't want any problems with surly cleaning staff while we were still there, and with a bum door not closing or locking well anyway. In summary, I'm not saying NOT to stay here, because maybe our experience was the result of a new or inexperienced maid, but if you stay here, I'd recommend checking over your room before committing to it...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JM2010Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I am truly very sorry for your bad experience at this hotel! I have spoken to the housekeeping director about your comments. I wish you had brought this to someone's attention as soon as you checked in as we could have remedied the problem immediately! I'm not sure exactly why there was a cleanliness issue, but it is not our common practice to have an unclean room for folks' arrival. Please forgive and try us again so we can prove to you our commitment for excellence in cleanliness and customer service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $100 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our Plus rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our Plus and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing