We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was referred to this hotel by another chain hotel in the area that I'd picked at random on a drive up to Maine. I hadn't made reservations which, as it turned out, was a mistake as a couple of other hotels in the area were booked. Best Western, luckily, had a room, and I was pleasantly surprised by accommodations. For a reasonable rate I was given a large, comfortable room (with free internet). The hotel is located very close to the highway. I didn't eat at the adjacent restaurant, but did have the free lobby coffee that was surprisingly good. The staff I dealt with were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We're happy that we were able to accommodate you at the last minute! That's not always the case as many people are discovering that we have a great product at a reasonable rate.
Thanks for spreading the good word ..... we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    220
    125
    72
    36
See reviews for
228
232
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our final night of a nine day vacation found us at the Best Western Plus in Portsmouth, NH. This was a city where none of us had visited and our first hint as to the nature of the hotel was the desk clerk's willingness to provide us with a view of places to visit and restaurants we might enjoy.
Following a painless check-in, we went to our rooms to find them clean as a whistle, with all the expected amenities.
Breakfast at the '50s themed restaurant was everything we had hoped for!
A return to Portsmouth would find us checking in again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhalfdime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
So glad you enjoyed Portsmouth as much as we all do! The Roundabout Diner continues to "Wow"! people with their awesome breakfast! That's probably why the Phantom Gourmet has given them such great reviews!
Come on back anytime....we'll be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Began and ended the summer at this hotel- spent Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends here. Very clean & comfortable. The outdoor pool area was well kept & clean, as was the indoor pool and whirlpool. The fitness room had working machines- we often encounter less maintained areas- but everything here worked! All the staff- from front desk to housekeeping were helpful & friendly. I love the all-day coffee and the computers in the lobby. The front desk folks are interested in your stay- and are ready to offer suggestions for restaurants. We came to read, rest and relax- and we did!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btheatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Glad you were able to relax and enjoy what we have to offer! Do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I decided last minute (a few days before) to go away for the Labor Day weekend. Knowing that it might not be so easy to find a decent room at a decent proce we were lucky when I stumpbled upon this place online. I did use AAA but the regular rates were not that bad since oftentime prices are bumped up for Holidays.

It's very easy to get too, right off of a rotary on the Route 1 bypass. No, it's not overlooking any water, nor is there are view, but we knew that going in. The rooms are clean, and the bed wasn't too bad. There was a large whirlpool tub in the bathroom too, but, unfortunately we never did get to use it.

The location is very close to downtown, a five min drive or so, and parking downtown is not the easiest, but if you get into the garages before they are full-they are the cheapest parking garage I have ever parked in at 75 cents an hour.

The hotel does not serve any type of breakfast but does have good, hot coffee available all day that is included. There is a diner attached that had quite a large menu, but we never ate there so I can't say how the food is.

The pools abnd hot tub both looked very clean, but with our short stay didn't get to use them.

The place was very clean, AC was fine, room was a bit dark with the lighting since we faced the parking lot and could only open the blinds for part of the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

As a note, we did notice that there is an overflow parkig lot with plenty of space so it's a great place if you have a trailer or boat, that you need to park overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
You can write our ads anytime! Thanks for the kind words I must say, though, I was surprised when you only gave us 3 stars for quality of room and value. We try harder! We'll keep at it to improve!!!! I do appreciate your detailed description of the hotel for folks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Superficially, things look nice here. Desk staff were friendly and check-in was smooth on this busy holiday weekend, and the lobby was inviting with plenty of chairs and light, and there were 2 computers and 1 printer available (there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel). However, I found 2 straight pins on the carpet right in the middle of our room, suggesting the room had not been vacuumed. There were hairs on the bathroom counter, the ice bucket had remnants of dried, sticky red juice inside, and there were stains on the bedspread and bed skirt. We saw a youngish girl cleaning the room near us the next morning; actually we heard her before we saw her, since she was playing the radio in the room with the door open while she cleaned. Especially troublesome was the fact that our door required considerable slamming and pushing to ensure it was closed. In fact, when we first went into the room, all it took was a push on the door to enter - our key card wasn't required :-(. Because of all this, we didn't leave anything valuable or irreplaceable in the room - not for fear of staff taking them, but anyone at all, since the hotel is essentially wide open. We thought of telling staff about this, but after already seeing the staff's laxity about cleanliness, figured there'd be the same laxity about closing the door properly. I feel a little bad that we didn't say all this to the manager before we left, but we didn't want any problems with surly cleaning staff while we were still there, and with a bum door not closing or locking well anyway. In summary, I'm not saying NOT to stay here, because maybe our experience was the result of a new or inexperienced maid, but if you stay here, I'd recommend checking over your room before committing to it...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JM2010Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am truly very sorry for your bad experience at this hotel! I have spoken to the housekeeping director about your comments. I wish you had brought this to someone's attention as soon as you checked in as we could have remedied the problem immediately! I'm not sure exactly why there was a cleanliness issue, but it is not our common practice to have an unclean room for folks' arrival. Please forgive and try us again so we can prove to you our commitment for excellence in cleanliness and customer service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very nice stay for 2 nights. Room and bathroom very clean and seemed recently renovated. Like having separate sink area from bath. Mini fridge and microwave were appreciated. Very good location, right on the traffic circle. Very quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Just 4 miles from Kittery Outlets, this hotel is a favorite destination hotel for many shoppers during the year. Being so close to many attractions is why we are so busy! Please keep coming back....would love to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is easy to get to from highway. 5 minute drive to Foxrun mall and about 10 minutes to Kittery outlets. This is the second time we have stayed there and both times were impressed with the rooms. This time we had a standard room with 2 double beds and there was a lot of space, also very clean and nicely decorated. I will stay there next time we go to Kittery because of the accessibility, cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trafficcircle, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Glad you liked us! We are only a mile and a half from downtown Portsmouth where alot of the attractions are located and only a couple of miles to the Fox Run Mall for indoor shopping. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Address: 580 US Highway 1 Bypass, Interstate Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel and Suites has clean comfortable rooms featuring a 37" flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free wi-fi. Our PLUS rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. Our Superior rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. In addition to our PLUS and Superior rooms we have suites with a separate living room and full kitchens. Every guest can also spend time in 1 of our 2 pools, a heated indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool or the newly renovated fitness room. The Roundabout Diner and 3,200 sf of meeting space complete our facility but the friendly team of associates make our hotel the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Wynwood Hotel Portsmouth
Best Western Wynwood Hotel
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing