We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The District

The District
Ranked #96 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Contemporary New American, locally sourced, fresh seafood. Weekend Brunch, full menu tip midnight 7 nights a week
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good thing we reserved, the restaurant was full. The staff was friendly, the food was very good, the restaurant is small and cozy.

For appetizers, we had a poutine, a small pulled pork sandwich with shaved beets. Everything was excellent, even though there was no curds (there was a big chunk of cheese melted on top of it) the poutine was awesome, the gravy was from duck fat, I think. I'm from the Quebec, Canada where the poutine comes from, I know when a poutine is good, and this one passed the test.

For entrée, we had a rib steak burger and a scallop mac'n'cheese. Both were to die for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So-So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived a little early and was seated immediately. There was a window table available, but were told it was reserved. That Saturday evening was the last day of restaurant week in Portsmouth. There was a 3 course fixed meal that was offered, but we couldn't use our Groupon. We ordered off the main menu and one of the appetizers on the fixed menu which was not on the regular menu. We waited half an hour for the appetizer to arrive as the couple behind us, having arrived after us, and ordered the price fixed meal were served long before us.
When our appetizer finally arrived and knowing we were sharing it, never gave us additional plates or serving utensils. It was a risotto and difficult to share without any spoons. The filet mignon was excellent, but the hamburger was just a hamburger.
The service was slow and we felt they were more interested in serving drinks and the fixed menu, then serving a couple using the Groupon. It was a disappointment and we travel to Portsmouth often, but we won't eat there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reasonably good plates, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The District is centrally located and has great street visibility. The decor is minimal, with a black and white theme that isn't reminiscent of any particular style. The sound ambience was poor, with lots of hard surfaces resonating with every conversation and the sound system in the background. All that said, and though I thought the interior was kind of 'meh' I'd still go back if only the food hadn't been so average. There was plenty of it, the plates weren't skimpy, the timing was great and the service was exceptional. But two of four dishes we ordered were unpleasantly salty, and one of them was loaded with relishes/sides to the point that I could hardly locate the main part of the food. Well, at least it didn't bust the bank. I think summertime on the sidewalk/patio with a nice glass of wine and maybe a salad would be GREAT. But wintertime in the loud room with OK but not special dinners was not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice looking but don't order food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stopped in for a couple appetizers before a show at the Music Hall. The beers on tap were impressive. The coctail menu was as well. We ordered three appetizers. The salad was good but the greens were not super fresh. The duck confit egg rolls were ok. The fish tacos were super bitter - really unpleasant. Also, our first bar server was disinterested. Fortunately, he was usurped by a more competent person midway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week - disappointing portion and selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited during restaurant week and the food was good but very tiny portions - entree of scallops was only 3...not huge ones either. All sides were small too. Dessert selection was disappointing!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K2R2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The District also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing