We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$219
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$161
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
$299
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveler rating
449
251
94
45
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
251
94
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas tree shopthe manager's receptionfree shuttlewhirlpool tubroom was cleanfree beercomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areaa wonderful staynew hampshirefront desk stafffresh fruitwould stay here againbagelskittery outletsclose to downtownlobby
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 869 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

My sisters and I had a fabulous time, we went swimming...we enjoyed warm chocolate chip cookies which were awesome. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the next morning. We had such a good time. The room was perfect we actually slept a little late. Thank you Hampton Inn.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank tinagJ7541ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear tinagJ7541ZM -

Thank you so much for such a positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that staff took good care of you while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Wonderful hotel with helpful staff. The hotel was very clean and had all the amenities we were looking for. Located conveniently near everything we wanted to do. Will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank susankH1462YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Dear susankH1462YD - Thank you for the kind review! We very much look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portsmouth! Best, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Upon checking out could not receive my bill due to computer being down. Was told that I would receive the bill email. To this date I still do not have a bill for my stay. Totally unacceptable. The breakfast was extremely mediocre as the cheese English muffins were burned and almost inedible. There seemed to be a problem as there was no one at the breakfast station to report the problem to. It would seem that there needs to be more care in this department. As far as the room was concerned it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and had all the necessaries.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 615caesarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Dear 615caesarm,

Thank you for staying with us! We apologize that you haven't received your bill. Please reach out to us at ecommerce@girihotels.com so that we can make sure to send a copy of that out to you. We will be sure to pass along your feedback about breakfast to the breakfast staff! We try to offer a perfect experience for our guests, but occasionally we fall short. We apologize that you caught us not at our best! We hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next trip to Portsmouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We stayed here istead of downtown to avoid parking fee. Best hotel ever. All staff went out of their way and you could tell they were all hard workers. Place is kept spotless. This location is much above what you expect for hampton inn! Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Su O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Dear Su O,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It's a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests, and we very much look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Portsmouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

We had a late check-in but the front desk receptionist was very friendly. Overall the hotel is modern & clean. The rooms were modern & clean as well. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection of items and quality food. Overall very pleased with the stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kspaulding, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Dear Dan S,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel and staff! We appreciate your kind words, and very much hope to welcome you back to stay with us again on your next trip to Portsmouth! Best, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews