We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midnight Milk Run” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Midnight Milk Run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Front desk, very friendly and professional. Took the time to familiarize me with their hotel and the amenities. As always the room was clean and did not smell like disinfect. 4:30p.m social the bomb! Free wine a choice of three different kinds. Italian meatballs in a perfect tomato sauce with Italian bread. They had an assortment of drinks along with fresh popcorn.

Breakfast, very good. Shiloh Rood, made it even better. This individual kept everything fresh, hot and clean. You could tell she loved her job and the people she served. She hustled!!! Hampton Inn has a jewel of a worker.

All of the service people I encounter were on their game....the Milk Run...my mother is 86 and could not sleep I went to the front desk staffer and ask for Milk after seeing the kitchen was closed. The front desk staff person got on his phone called someone and within seconds I had a large cup of Milk...no charge. Mother had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woventales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Woventales,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thanks especially for recognizing Shiloh, it made her day! We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    227
    74
    37
    22
See reviews for
229
253
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weare, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed 1 night with my wife to visit the Downtown area for dinner and drinks, a quick getaway from everyday life. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. A special thanks to the shuttle driver for prompt courteous service. The room we had was spotless, but the bed was a bit too soft for my liking. Not a hotel if you are looking for a view of the coast but walking distance to the mall area. Good free breakfast, and the management reception with free beer and wine was a surprise bonus! Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Michael P,
Thank you writing a review about your Hampton Portsmouth experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Canthi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A group of us had travelled all the way from Nigeria to attend our friend Grace's son's wedding to gorgeous Erica whose family lives in Portsmouth. Almost everyone attending the function stayed at the Hampton Inn a cosy and warm hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. They were excited and amazed at our traditional African outfits and some of our hairdo. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel shuttle to the mall and other places was really helpful. The drivers were courteous and helpful.
Although breakfast had a variety of things to pick from, unfortunately all the cooked meal apart from oatmeal had pork in it. So I was limited in my choice of food and could only eat bagel with cheese spread, tea and cereal. All in all it was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hafsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hafsat,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for your recommendation. It was our pleasure to have you and your group stay with us, please give our congratulations to the Bride and Groom!

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

There was a mix up with my booking on my part due to a last minute booking. The manager was so accommodating that she cancelled the booking without charging me and found another hotel as they were currently sold out for the weekend. Although I did not get to stay here I wanted to point out the excellent level of service and will be utilizing them again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teambk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
teambk,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your understanding and I'm so glad we were able to assist you in finding alternate accommodations. We sincerely hope you choose to stay with us again if you return to the area.
Thanks again,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our trip was amazing from start to finish. Cleanest room. Friendliest staff. Complimentary EVERYTHING. Huge breakfast, beer and wine with appetizers. Laundry with detergent. (And dryer sheets!) fresh hot coffee and hot cocoa all day! To top it all off fresh warm choc chip cookies at night all free. I felt like I was at my Moms! Can't wait to go back. My kids loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Marianne B,
It’s wonderful to receive your review and feedback on your experience at our hotel. We’re happy to have been a part of your weekend, and we’re glad our friendly service and accommodating staff made for a memorable weekend. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This Hampton Inn isn't in the center of town, but there is a free shuttle that will take you the 5 minute drive in and the prices are better than staying downtown. Easy to get to from the highway. The room was modern and a nice size, the bed was comfortable with CLEAN duvet cover too. There's a fridge in the room as well as a coffee maker. The bathroom had a large shower with jacuzzi tub and a granite counter with plenty of space for your things. Neutrogena products were supplied.
The breakfast was busy and the staff had a hard time keeping up with the demand. There was fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels and muffins, bacon and a breakfast burrito. Also a make your own waffle bar. Free fresh coffee available all day long.
We couldn't get into our room early to change for a wedding so they let us into the conference room with private bath to get ready. We also left something behind in the room that they sent along with someone else in the party and were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
SylLovestoTravel,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great hotel to business and leisure travelers. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here as the downtown Portsmouth hotels more than doubled in price in two years. It was nice, really close to shopping and many restaurants. Our room had a huge whirlpool tub which was really nice. The staff goes out of their way to help you. Very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Carolyn M,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent experience. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing