We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a getaway. Friendly service, convenient location. TV had to be manually set for input each time it was used and the cable box turned on separately, no instructions, had to call for maintenance to show the first time. Otherwise, clean and quiet room despite highway view. Would stay again at this location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

wenpj,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth for your 2 night stay getaway. We appreciate you writing a review about your experience, and we're glad our friendly service, clean accommodations, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the television set and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We value you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 809 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've stayed at many different motels/hotels in Portsmouth, NH -
we go to the Portsm.outh Maritime Music Festival every September -
this is our new favorite.
Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable, & affordable (AAA/AARP rate),
with all the ammenities: coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, etc. A good value.
Free "Happy Hour" every evening except Sunday and good selection of free breakfast items.
All staff were very helpful and courteous.
I must remember to bring my laptop & swim suit next year!
Only negative was the slowness of the 2 public computers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

L M,
We're happy to have had you as our guests while attending the Maritime Music Festival. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly service, clean accommodations, and the variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located to the downtown area (a short drive). The staff was extremely friendly throughout our stay and the room was clean. They offered an unexpected perk of a Happy Hour with a nice selection of wines and local beer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdf630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

bdf630,
Thank you for sharing your great review regarding Hampton Inn Portsmouth experience. We're glad our hotel was conveniently located for your travels, and you found our friendly service and value added amenities to exceed your expectations. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent an enjoyable 4 days there. Very professional, efficient and friendly staff, and the amenities can't be beat! Shuttle bus takes you anywhere within a 5-mile radius (which includes downtown Portsmouth and Kittery Outlets!), complimentary breakfast, Manager's reception every day at 4:30. And did I mention the staff??? They were wonderful, could not have been more helpful or friendly. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when in Portsmouth or the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Susan K,
Thank you for sharing your review and complimentary feedback on the wonderful variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth, and the excellent service you received from our friendly staff. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our team and thank you again for writing. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times because we love the location being next to restaurants & shopping. It is easy to find off the highway and is set back in a quiet location. Breakfasts & Social Hour for Guests every evening are free and well presented. The rooms were always clean and very comfortable. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

AMcF_12,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that our close proximity to restaurants and shopping is well suited for your travel needs, and our clean rooms and friendly service made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll return for another visit with us in the near future. Thank you again for your great review.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this through booking.com and got a very good rate. The check in was very fast and we found the room surprisingly large, clean and comfortable, with a decent TV. The manager has a daily 'greeting' with free drinks at 4.30pm and was attended by a fair number of folks, who all welcomed this pleasant gesture. Although the hotel is a little distance from downtown they run a superb bus service until late so you can wine and dine and simply call them to pick you up, we waited just a few minutes, excellent service, and if we're passing this way again we may well use this hotel again. Thanks to the staff and manager
As an afterthought, next to the hotel is the biggest Christmas shop we've ever seen, a bit weird for September, we thought, before spending $20 in there

Room Tip: Book early for good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

SteveByfleet,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about our comfortable accommodations and excellent service at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're glad you enjoyed our daily manager's reception that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Paid advanced rate to reserve one king room and one queen room. Arrived to be given two queen rooms. Talked to four different people and left still being charged more for a room that I reserved and was not given. Also, door of one of the queen rooms broke. New queen room had a leaking faucet in the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $107 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing