We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United States
1 review
“Visiting Family”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived early after driving all night and ask if we may check in early to get some sleep. Jackie checked us right in and let us know about all the ammenties the hotel had to offer. Then she sent us off to get some rest. THANKS JACKIE!! After some rest and visiting with family we had a great nights sleep to awake and enjoy the breakfast and friendliness of the staff. Everyone was great!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jewel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Jewel J,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth while visiting family. We appreciate your review and kind comments about our great amenities and friendly staff. I'll be certain to recognize Jackie with a special commendation for her outstanding service. Please plan to visit us again the next time you visit your family. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    235
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
236
263
21
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time staying in a Hampton Inn and was pleasantly surprised. Pleasant, friendly staff from check in to check out. Rooms were clean and comfy with free wi-fi. Manager's reception in the lobby each night was not expected. Pool and jacuzzi were fun for the kids. Even played hoops out back which gave them something extra to do. Complimentary breakfast each morning with a variety of foods. Could not believe they were able to keep up with replenishing the food and coffee without missing a beat since the hotel was completely full. They also provide a complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel which is very convenient. Would definitely stay again when in the area. Cannot think of a single thing to complain about! The staff could not have been more accommodating or helpful. The location is very convenient to both downtown Portsmouth as well as UNH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Corinne F,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your visit to Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We're happy to have been a part of your first Hampton Inn experience, and we're glad you exceeded your expectations with our friendly service, comfortable accommodations, and the various value added amenities that we're so proud to offer our guests. We hope you and your family will have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lobby was clean. Room was clean. Bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom tub....was Terrible! Had dirt and filth in it. I checked in late as i was traveling for business and had to clean the tub before I could shower. Not a typical Hilton experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Frank R,
Thank you for writing. Your feedback is valuable to us. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not met with our excellence in service. This is definitely not up to our high quality standards that you've come to expect from the Hilton brand. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our housekeeping staff and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're providing the highest standards of cleanliness and most positive experience. Thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us in the future to see our improvements.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Who'd a thought that you could stay in the hometown as John Paul Jones! I was in awe when I began to read the historical significance of this beautiful mid 1700's town. Among it's early history is more modern history specific to the maritime culture of the seaboard; naval dock yard, submarine events. Driving over the bridge from Maine into New Hampshire you are bound to miss this quaint piece of americana if you blink. So, stop in and have a look.

The hampton Inn in Portsmouth is a conveniently located hotel close to shopping and the town site and all its history. The walls of the hotel are filled with pictoral events from years past. While the hotel had some good traits, it was not very clean and was in need of an upgrade. It was somewhat expensive, in my opinion, for the quality of the facility, but the small staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was great, hot and had a variety of breakfast foods to choose from. There is a free shuttle service anywhere you choose to go and free pick up as well. Take a chance and stay here for a night and see the local history and taste the seafood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVWStonegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
GVWStonegate,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your travels to Portsmouth. It's great to hear you found our helpful staff and complimentary services well suited for your travel needs. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations, and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathy Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great stay with friendly, helpful staff and very clean and comfortable room. Beer and wine tasting in the evening and complimentary breakfast in morning were very nice. Best of all free taxi service to downtown for some "nightlife" was terrific!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank SallieOneonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
SallieOneonta,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed a great stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean accommodations, and the variety of value added amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope we have an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathy Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

towel storage rack made handicap room difficult to use for person in a wheel chair. The roll in shower was great. Also a lift in the pool and whirlpool. Staff was great. breakfast was a little different each morning which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
RobertP,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at our Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We’re pleased to hear our amenities that we have in place to assist our handicap guests along with our complimentary breakfast and friendly staff are appreciated and made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Sincerely,

Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is truly one of the best places I have ever stayed. Free hot homemade chocolate cookies on arrival. Free drinks and snacks in the evening, free shuttle survice to the mall, and a wonderful free breakfast. A giant whirlpool tub in a kingsized bed room, clean duvets for every guest, and spotless rooms. I would expect to spend at least double what they charged for the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nighttripperplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Nighttripperplus,

Thank you writing a review about your Hampton Inn experience. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations and great amenities. We appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn Portsmouth for your hotel needs and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Cathi Tingley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing