We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hampton Inns usually don't disappoint and this one in Portsmouth NH lived up to par! Complimentary breakfast and manager's reception were nice touches. Clean, quiet room with comfy beds and duvets and large bathroom were great. Fridge in room was also nice.

Room Tip: Top floor end of corridor away from elevators, laundry and ice machine will get you a nice quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Eileen R,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel. I’m pleased to hear Hampton Inn Portsmouth lived up to par with the exceptional stay that you’ve come to expect from our brand. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and found our accommodations to be clean, quiet and comfortable during your stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 802 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at several Hampton Inns over the years and what I like about them are the amenities and the consistency. If you have seen one you have seen them all. Nice clean rooms, same breakfast, free internet. This one has a pool. This one had a wine social in the afternoon, which I did not get to partake of, so can't speak directly to it. It's a little hard to find in the labyrinth of roads around this developed shopping area, but not too bad.

Room Tip: There is a pool on the first floor. You might find out if the room is near the ice machines, they se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoetDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

PoetDoc,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand over the years. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the cleanliness of our rooms and wonderful amenities to match your expectations. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Father's day weekend. The location of the hotel was not what I expected, it is located behind a shopping area near a ChristmasTree shop. It is near restaurants and other stores. It is about a 10 minutes from the stores in Kittery Maine and about 20-30 minutes from the beach. I gave the cleanliness a poor rating because the room had a lot of dust.I had to clean off the headboard and then nightstand. Also the bathroom smelled as if it had been cleaned with a dirty mop. It just did not have that ultra clean feeling that the Hamptons usually provide. The was staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 564Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

MRSC1116,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I appreciate you acknowledging that our staff was friendly and helpful during your visit. I sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not met with our excellence in service. Your comments provide valuable feedback for improving our property and overall guest experience. I have addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff inorder to heighten our awareness of such issues and make improvements. Thank you again for your review and feedback. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only stayed for one night in Portsmouth but had a great experience. For the price, this hotel exceeded our expectations. The happy hour and breakfast were a nice bonus and the shuttle to downtown was incredibly convenient and helped us see as much as we could while we were around. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank groc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

groc28,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re pleased to know we exceeded your expectations. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on all the value added amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel staff very, very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were clean--windows opened--fresh air wonderful. Complimentary wine & beer late afternoon, outside patio, and guest shuttle to downtown area made this hotel a come back to for us. The location is perfect to explore both Portsmouth and some of lower Maine. Definitely a great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank mschmid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

mschmid2,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback about our friendly staff, clean accommodations, and great location. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. We hope you’ll visit us again at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We made the reservation 2 months ago and requested joining rooms for my wife and I and our daughter/husband and 2 kids. We received a conformation 7 days prior to our arrival. Everything went as planned and the rooms were clean and neat and adjoining. The pool and spa were nice.

The only negative was that Saturday and Sunday breakfast. The one person supervising the food area could not keep up. There was a long wait for sausage, eggs, when the fruit ran out, there was not more. I was an early riser with the kids and we were ok. My wife and daughter had basically noting when they went down.

The location is excellent with grocery stores, resturants near-by as well as quick access to the main roads. I would stay again and hope that they could improve on the breakfast situation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhorfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

nhorfs,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your room requests, and you found clean accommodations, pool area, and our convenient location well suited for your travels. It’s unfortunate to hear about your experience and disappointment with the breakfast service. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into consideration to improve our service and guest experience. We hope you and your family will have an opportunity to visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed here for one night on our way to Maine. It is a great hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms. Decent free breakfast as well. Location was great, right off 95. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Maine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfenn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

lfenn525,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about our great hotel, friendly staff, and clean rooms. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our convenient location well suited for your travels. We look forward to seeing you again at Hampton Inn Portsmouth on your next trip to Maine. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $111 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing