We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, United States
2 reviews
“Very Helpful”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were arriving for an early afternoon family funeral. The staff was more than helpful in allowing us to check in early to give us time to change and be at the funeral on time. We have already recommended this location to other family members and friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kristy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thelma O,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and helpful during your stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to your family and friends. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    237
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
241
265
21
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have to travel a lot for work and I must say this one of the best experiences I had. Rooms were cleans, beds were soft and the staff was great, especially Nikki. This place even has happy hour every night were they have free appetizers, beer and wine.

Hope the next place is just as great

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Son J,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m delighted to hear that your stay with us ranked as one of your best hotel experiences. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad your clean rooms, comfortable bed and great staff made for an enjoyable stay. I’ll be certain to recognize Nikki with a special commendation for her outstanding service. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean and inviting. The staff was great and they worked very hard with a smile. Breakfast time was an extremely hectic time for the staff. they were running around clening and stocking the food items. We really loved the tub with spa jets. It is very nice to have clean sheets and duvet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Andrew L,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on our hotel. It’s great to know our clean hotel, friendly staff and comfortable accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

3 out of 5 stars. a bit dated site. Nice staff. Good location. Everything you need close by, to include, Home Depot, Wally World, IHOP, Colonel Sanders, Texas Roadhouse. Portsmouth has really nice people. There is a Submarine located in Portsmouth too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Mark E,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m glad our great location provides many options and conveniences for your travel needs. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

At 99.00 per night, the two nights I spent here was great. Big hotel rooms with fridges. I didn't have a chance to get check out the pool. Breakfast buffet was free, and a large variety to choose from. I'd definitely go back. Came here to get pick up a boat with some friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
chester151,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We’re glad you selected our hotel while picking up a boat with friends. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our spacious accommodations. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Portsmouth. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is very convenient if you're looking for something close to Portsmouth. The room was clean, the happy hour was pleasant and well stocked, and the staff were friendly, if somewhat uncoordinated. We asked for a cot and it was promised to be delivered by9:00 pm. When we arrived back at 10:00 we double checked with the desk that the cot had been delivered. (We were a party of 3 female adults who had requested the cot in advance and had checked in at 3:00.) The front desk called over to another worker who simply replied, Yes. Well, when we got to our room we found the cot upright in the doorway. Not a huge deal, but it meant we had to do the furniture rearranging at 10:30 at night. not impressive customer service when the person who delivered the cot was still there and fully realized our situation. There is some traffic noise and the air conditioner cuts on and off, but otherwise it's a very workable place if you're looking for function and not a "wow" memorable vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Charlotte K,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to me, so I'm glad to hear from you. I appreciate your kind comments about our convenient location, clean rooms and friendly staff. I apologize for you’re the frustrations you encountered with the delivery and setup of the cot during your stay. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon so we can wow you with our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have travelled extensively within the United states and stayed in a variety of hotels, but this eight day stay at Hampton inn ,Portsmouth will definitely have to rank as one of the most satisfying ones. It is not so much the facilities (which incidentally was excellent), but the approach and affability of everyone working there was wonderful to behold and experience.

I Would like personally thank each of them for making my stay so very comfortable. With this singular experience, you have raised the brand name of "Hampton" in my eyes and would strongly recommend this place to all my coworkers, who Happen to visit New Hampshire for business or pleasure .

Balasubramaniam Narayanamoorthy
Room no : 531 (12 th - 21st May 2013)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narayanamoorthy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Narayanamoorthy B,
It’s wonderful to hear from you! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your eight day stay with us and felt well taken care of by our friendly staff. We have a great team of dedicated associates that genuinely care about providing an exceptional stay for each guest. I will be happy to pass along your kind comments and praise to our team. Thank you again for your patronage and review. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing