We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here 6 weeks in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been traveling to Portsmouth from Richmond, VA for the last 12 weeks, Monday through Thursday. My first 6 weeks I stayed here. This hotel provides great value - free parking, free drinks/food from 4:30 to 6:30 on weekdays, as well as free breakfast. The hotel is quiet for the most part and has free internet. The staff is also very friendly and remembered me when I checked in on Mondays after the first couple of stays.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtkev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

vtkev02,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Hampton Inn. We value you as our guest and appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your travels to Portsmouth. I'm happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our hotel to provide a good value for your travel needs. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 790 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay at this property. We stayed with family for a special event. We were greeted promptly, the service was courteous, the room was clean and attractive, everything worked fine, the internet was excellent. There is a 'happy hour' in the lobby with drinks and nachos from 4-6. I liked that. It was nice to join a friend there for a little while. Wake up call worked fine. Plenty of outlets. Honestly, it was convenient and pleasant. So, was there a negative? Well, maybe two tiny things. The internet in the lobby is literally in an alcove where the chairs infringed on the lobby hallway, so if you want to browse or check Facebook down there, you will do it with others' ability to look over your shoulder as they walk by to the elevator. Exercise room was tiny, but OK for the facility. Would I go again. Definitely. It was convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the elevator. But not a big deal.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Miley2007,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you stayed with us again at Hampton Inn and had a great visit. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Manager's Reception and had time to meet with a friend. We hope you'll continue to stay with us when traveling to Portsmouth. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped here for one night while travelling. We were impressed with the modern decor, comfortable bed, many options for breakfast, great breakfast seating area and friendly staff. We slept well and had a great night's stay. We would return - no complaints!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

EastCoastCanada,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and had a nice, comfortable stay. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you'll stop and visit us again. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the hotel last weekend and we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel still feels new, and comes with many amenities: hot breakfast in the morning, manager's snacks including beer/wine in the evening and even cookies placed out at night. There's also a pool and hot tub that makes the kids happy. We were also happy with the room...two full beds, enough for a family of 4 easily, room was clean, nice bathroom. Room had a good sized fridge with small freezer section, microwave, and flat screen TV. Also, saw a washer/dryer on the floor as well which is a nice convenience. Free wi-fi too.

The location is great too - close to all shops, restaurants, etc. Next time we're in the area, we'll be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to pets, stay on the 5th floor, that's the pet free floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

NHFam,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you staying with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. I'm glad you liked our hotel and were even surprised. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you'll get another opportunity to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. From the time I called to book the room throughout our stay everyone was so nice. We arrived and were greeted by Nikki who immediately told us Happy Anniversary, I was surprised that she had it with our reservation. We had the king room with jacuzzi tub...very clean and comfortable..we took shuttle to Red Hook Brewery and had a great time. We will return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brower311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

brower311,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We were delighted to have you and your husband stay with us for such a special occasion. I'm glad to hear that you both enjoyed your visit and had a great time. Happy Anniversary and please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a one night get away. This hotel really is a good one . They have ashuttle service that takes you downtown and back which was great with the limited parking . The staff was wonderful and the room was great. I especially loved the coffee available and the breakfast was really good. I loves the complimentary manager's party in the afternoon. Pool and hot tub were really nice. I think I will go back here any time and you really will be satisfied. Also all the shoppers will love the Christmas tree shop next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

dnrest,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you staying with us, even if for only one night! We're glad you liked our hotel, staff, and location. I hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us and this time, make it a longer visit. There is more to see in Portsmouth! Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Traveling with friends on a shopping weekend meant we were good and tired by bedtime. Imagine our digust when a friend pulled back the duvet cover and top sheet and we found not only had the bed not been changed but it was umm, messy as well.
A quick call to the front desk and staff arrived in moments. We were quickly told we needed a new room asap and they would go take care of all that and be right back. A couple minutes later we were across the hall in a new and clean room.
Although it was totally disgusting we managed to get a laugh out of the whole ordeal especially since the staff was so appropriate and helpful about the whole "mess".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakneckBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

BreakneckBrook,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Hampton Inn. Please accept my sincere apologies for your first room not being cleaned. I'm glad our staff was able to quickly change your room, but I apologize for your inconvenience. I'm glad you stayed with us while visiting Portsmouth, and I hope we'll see you again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $144 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing