We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. From the time I called to book the room throughout our stay everyone was so nice. We arrived and were greeted by Nikki who immediately told us Happy Anniversary, I was surprised that she had it with our reservation. We had the king room with jacuzzi tub...very clean and comfortable..we took shuttle to Red Hook Brewery and had a great time. We will return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brower311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

brower311,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We were delighted to have you and your husband stay with us for such a special occasion. I'm glad to hear that you both enjoyed your visit and had a great time. Happy Anniversary and please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 812 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a one night get away. This hotel really is a good one . They have ashuttle service that takes you downtown and back which was great with the limited parking . The staff was wonderful and the room was great. I especially loved the coffee available and the breakfast was really good. I loves the complimentary manager's party in the afternoon. Pool and hot tub were really nice. I think I will go back here any time and you really will be satisfied. Also all the shoppers will love the Christmas tree shop next door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

dnrest,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you staying with us, even if for only one night! We're glad you liked our hotel, staff, and location. I hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us and this time, make it a longer visit. There is more to see in Portsmouth! Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Traveling with friends on a shopping weekend meant we were good and tired by bedtime. Imagine our digust when a friend pulled back the duvet cover and top sheet and we found not only had the bed not been changed but it was umm, messy as well.
A quick call to the front desk and staff arrived in moments. We were quickly told we needed a new room asap and they would go take care of all that and be right back. A couple minutes later we were across the hall in a new and clean room.
Although it was totally disgusting we managed to get a laugh out of the whole ordeal especially since the staff was so appropriate and helpful about the whole "mess".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakneckBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

BreakneckBrook,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Hampton Inn. Please accept my sincere apologies for your first room not being cleaned. I'm glad our staff was able to quickly change your room, but I apologize for your inconvenience. I'm glad you stayed with us while visiting Portsmouth, and I hope we'll see you again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This has to be the finest hotel ever for value,service,cleanliness and friendliness! This certainly is a hotel that merits return visits. We have'nt got that much bang for our buck in a very long time. Certainly a hotel that cares about their clientel. The Vigeants 20 4

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

ROBERT V,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your recent stay with us at Hampton Inn. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a nice, pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind compliments, and I hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us again. We look forward to it!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not right in downtown Portsmouth, but very close-- they have a great shuttle right to downtown. About 1/2 mile off highway-- lots of shopping close by. Rooms are great, a bit smaller than some other Hamptons we stay in; but it was fine for what we needed. Pool was a bit murky-- lots of chlorine-- and the air was VERY cold, but it was a cold weekend. Nice breakfast area! The staff is friendly, helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddm01238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

ddm01238,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us at Hampton Inn, and we're pleased you had a nice, pleasant visit. I hope you enjoyed your time in downtown Portsmouth too! Please come and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at this Hampton Inn - the staff - Larry & Nicki along with the shuttle drivers and breakfast bar personnell were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well taken care off. This property was convenient to shopping and restaurants.
We will stay here again and would recommend this property to our family, friends and co-workers.

Room Tip: High Floor away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Donna M,
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm glad you had such a great time at our hotel and especially enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff. Your recommendation to everyone is also appreciated! Come and visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $107 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing