We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

No surprises here. Typical Hampton Inn. Large, clean rooms. Friendly staff and a decent breakfast. The hotel is located in a very quiet area. Would stay here again if I were in the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theskycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us theskycop – we certainly hope to see you again!

Take care,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    237
    77
    40
    24
See reviews for
241
265
21
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My girlfriend did a "get away from the hubbies" and decided to go to Portsmouth because of the CHEAP liquor prices in New Hampshire and also it's relation to the outlets in Kittery Maine. The hotel was clean and nice, altho our room had a funky smell to it. We just burned a candle!! Complimentary breakfast was just ok. Staff was very helpful and nice.

Our BIGGEST problem was with the bill at the end ~ we had been charged their "new rate" rather than the one on the confirmation sheet. Glad that I had it with me!!!!!! Savings of about $60!!

Would go back again. Pool and hot tub were very nice!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Marilyn R,

Portsmouth is the perfect spot for a “girls getaway” and I hope you and your friends had a great time! My apologies for the confusion with your bill, I’m glad we were able to set things right for you. There’s so much to see and do in the area, I hope you and your friends come back to visit again soon!

Best,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Thank you so much Hampton Inn!! My husband, myself, and our 3 children had a fantastic stay! We unfortunately only stayed here on night as we were on our way home from a week away, and wanted to see Maine before going home. We were so tempted to stay another night though and had a really horrible experience at a different hotel, we regret not staying one more night. The staff was incredible, the room was beautiful and super clean. The hot breakfast was yummy! The only thing was the shower curtain had some black stains on it- not mold, it was clean just stains- I'm positive had I said something it would have been changed immediately. But, it was clean so it was not a big deal at all.. I cannot say enough positive things about this beautiful hotel! Thanks for an amazing stay Hampton Inn Portsmouth!!!

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardnerSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear GardnerSK,

Thanks so much for the glowing review, it was truly our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us! The entire team was excited when I shared your comments with them, we all appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you to the area, we would love to see you again.

Best,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This property was very clean, quiet room, nice linens, good pillows, good a/c, well-equipped, conveniently located, friendly. The breakfast was convenient, but not very good, other than the coffee. Warm cookies on check-in were nice. Here's the downfall, though, the internet would not stay connected. I thought I would go crazy, trying to be productive, yet the connection dropped constantly. I reported it to the front desk, but they had no solution. No one stepped up to offer anything with regard to the 100% guarantee, but I was very dissatisfied. Imagine, you are trying to get work done and the line drops every 2 minutes? They said that too many guests were accessing the internet and the bandwidth could not handle it - probably due to the soccer team staying there. But really, that is not acceptable if you are trying to connect and stay productive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Hello Miley2007,

Thank you for your review; I appreciate all your positive comments on your stay. Please accept my apologies with regards to the internet, we are very much looking forward to an upgrade so that guests such as yourself can enjoy uninterrupted connectivity.

Best regards,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawcatuck, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent last weekend in Portsmouth with my wife and had a great time. The hotel was beautiful with a nice breakfast in the morning. The rooms are spacious and had a whirlpool tub in the bath. The staff was pleasant and the price was less than we've paid at other hotels in the area. Booked thru Hotels.com which was $25 cheaper than booking thru the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for the king room with whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation Chet S! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend just to get away. The staff was excellent and very kind! I work in a hotel so I can appreciate all that they do to make your stay enjoyable. Always greeted with a smile when ever you walk in the door. Not a big breakfast person but there was a great variety of foods to choose from as well as coffee and juice. The managers reception offered local beer that was excellent to try, seeing as we were planning on taking part in a brewery tour, we got a head start on the beer tasting, YUM! The pool and spa added the extra special retreat after a long day to just sit and relax. The hotel is centrally located and offeres a free shuttle service around the area, which was also nice to take after touring a brewery! Excellent hotel and excellent staff and if I'm ever in the area again I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Hi m_wilson_516,

Glad to hear you had a great time while you were here in Portsmouth, the RedHook brewery is definitely a must-see while in town. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the area, thanks for the kind comments!

Best,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were travelling from Maine to New Hampshire and we stayed at Hampton Inns the whole trip. They were all great, but this Hampton Inn was superior. The service was excellent. They were very helpful recommending restaurants, shopping and area history. They even have a shuttle bus that will take you wherever you want and will pick you up. They had a nightly happy hour. The morning breakfast was great. Food was always hot and lots of food available. The nightly cookies were delicious!On our way back to Canada we were supposed to stay at another Hampton Inn in another location but changed our reservation and booked here because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the first floor is convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience Jenn C, and for staying with us not once, but twice! It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, we hope you enjoyed your travels and appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn.
Best,

Vic Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing