We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok seafood”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #19 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Restaurant details
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok seafood”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Maybe it was what I had. But there are SO many other fresh seafood places I would rather go to. I had salmon and it wasn't that good. The ice cream is decent but I would rather go to Lago's for that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank genevieve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    92
    34
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster Heaven!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Summer is certainly the best time to indulge in Lobster and Fried Seafood. If you love it as much as I do, you won't be disappointed here. What I like about the Lobster rolls is the ability to order the size and amount you want. I would tend to order to the smaller size since all are filling. I ordered the foot long(2 6 inch rolls) 12oz Lobster Roll and could only eat half but I was happy to take the rest home for later. Fresh with big chucks and not overwhelmed with mayo or seasoning just like a lobster roll should be. The hot dog roll is lightly buttered and toasted and quite flavorful. If you are also a fan of the "whole belly" fried clams this is the place to enjoy them. The whole belly fried clam dinner is heaped with tons of clams and fries. Lightly battered and cooked to a crunchy perfection with plenty of fries could easily feed two people and I must admit I have quite an appetite! If you're looking for healthy, stick with the lobster rolls. Simple and quick dining in or out on picnic tables with disposable dinnerware is simple and not fancy but you shouldn't expect it to be. Overall, very good, quick and hits the spot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not the best lobster roll.. all claw meat”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I live near the Beach Plum, and visited today for the first time this year. I think they changed their menu for lobster rolls, because they had it broken down by ounces. Your choices were 6 oz, 8 oz, 12 oz., etc.. I think there were about 6 choices. I don't remember it being like that last year. Anyway, I got the 8 oz. lobster roll for $20 (It came with a bag of chips). For $20 I was expecting much better. The roll was ALL claw meat, not a drop of tail meat. Really Beach Plum? For that price you can't put in the tail meat?! It could have been larger for that price also. I've had better lobster rolls (heck, I could make one better myself, with tail meat for a fraction of the price)
Very disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank momto3nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choices of food and ice cream”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This casual restaurant has many choices of sandwiches and lobster rolls along with ice cream. Quantities of food are reasonable but the ice cream is overpriced. However, there aren't many food locations with similar offerings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank minni9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Lobster Roll”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Driving thru Portsmouth NY we found this place. Very clean and fast service. Great place to gets some lobster roll and Ice cream

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alsolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing