We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lobster and clams!”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #20 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Restaurant details
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very good lobster and clams!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The fried food was delicious, so splurge on the onion rings! Great, very casual, but very good food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chopstick224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    91
    34
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Lobster roll.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have visited The Beach Plum in Portsmouth and Hampton, NH. Lobster rolls are very good at both locations.
Tons of lobster meat with just a touch of mayo on a grilled roll. Delicious!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster Rolls, Stuffed Clams, and Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great stop. Had the lobster rolls which were huge and excellent. Also tried the stuffed clams which were done perfectly. The ice cream was excellent. Portions were huge so order a small or a kiddie cone. Some members of the party ordered other food which wasn't as impressive (chicken sandwich was processed, hot dog was ok) so my recommendation is to stick with the seafood. Prices are a bit steep for a snack shack. I should have been sitting down when the cashier gave me the total as typically that's the price I would pay in a sit down restaurant. Overall, location is great and you can walk across the street to eat on the beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New England Clam Chowder was So-So”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We heard a lot of people talk about this place. I ordered the clam chowder and my family had ice cream. The chowder was disappointing and a little on the pricey side. Ice cream was great!! They do a hard cherry shell that everyone raved about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meshel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hot dog roll? Seriously???!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last summer I ordered a lobster roll up in Maine and had the experience of a lifetime... the lobster was delicious and the roll . . . the roll was a bread lovers dream. Sweet, tasty, soft and the perfect compliment to the lobster filling. Really worthy of the title of "Best lobster roll". Which leads me to The Beach Plum.
I bought into the hype of the sign saying "best lobster roll" in NH that is on display at the Beach Plum. It was pricey: $17.00 for a 7 inch lobster roll; with tax $18.52, then I added a $1.00 tip (the kid at the window was nice) so I spent nearly $20.00 on this lobster roll. My mouth was watering and I was all geared up, thinking of the delicious lobster roll I had experienced last summer at the place in Maine and WHAM, did I come back to reality when I saw my (nearly) $20.00 lobster roll was served on a grilled hot dog roll. The lobster itself was fine; tasty and fresh, but really nothing out of the ordinary. I can honestly say it was an okay meal. Okay, as in fine, mediocre, average.
What a let-down. I guess if you want a truly "BEST" lobster roll you have to go to Maine. This NH one is just average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing