We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a Lobster Roll!”
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Ranked #22 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Beach Plum opened in 1992 at North Hampton state beach as a breakfast and lunch restaurant. The next year, a better location became available just down the street (at it's current location) and it became a take out food and ice cream stand. That original location continues to operate seasonally April - October each year. Based on strong growth in the business at that beach location, a second Beach Plum location was opened at 2800 Lafayette Road (Route 1) in Portsmouth on St Patrick's Day 2011. This Portsmouth location features an expanded menu that includes award winning fried seafood with both indoor and outside deck dining. The Portsmouth Beach Plum was featured on TV Diner in 2012 and Phantom Gourmet in 2011 which named it as a Great 8 restaurant for both it's famous lobster rolls AND fried clams. The Beach Plum is believed to be the only restaurant in New England to be so honored as 1 of the 8 best for BOTH seafood specialties. In December 2015, a new Beach Plum opened at the Brickyard Square Plaza, 24 Calef Highway (Route 125),Epping,NH. That location shares the same menu as this Portsmouth location.
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get a Lobster Roll!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have only eaten there a couple times. The first time we shared a lobster roll and a clam basket with french fries.
The clam basket was average, and good. Though I would not order the fries again. I dont know what oil they use to fry them, but they were a bit soggy & had a strange flavor.
The lobster roll blew our minds. It was a bit expensive, and a bit small..but it IS lobster. It was SOOO good.
The next time I went there I had lobster bisque. It was good, nothing to write home about.
The girls working there were all high-school aged, but nice and friendly. YOu order your food & sit down & they bring your food to you when its ready. I recommend it. I can't wait for summer so the hampton location opens!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    33
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had heard so many great things about this restaurant...not particularly impressed. Compared to the many competitor's in the area they were average. Employees were lackluster, sipping cups of soda and eating behind the counter, Didn't look professional. Sent an email to the address posted on their website to explain what seemed to be unsanitary behavior, never got a response. Tells me they don't really care about the customer. The food was average, but not any better than many other options in the area. I feel like it is more hype with these guys than substance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarefootOGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stopped at the Beach Plum in Portsmouth NH this past weekend for lunch on our way home from Maine. The lobster roll here was better than the one we had from a similar restaurant on the coast of Maine! There was a huge amount of fresh, delicious lobster meat on a nicely toasted roll. There was so much meat that I had to eat it with a knife and fork, and could only finish half. There was more than enough meat left over to make another very big lobster roll for dinner the next night. My husband had the fried whole belly clam dinner and it was also delicious. I don't really care for whole belly clams but found myself stealing them off his plate! He could only finish half of the very large plate full of food. We will definitely be returning here on our next time through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
215 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lobstaaaaahhhhh”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Seriously! just get a lobster roll.....be happy:) I had a short time for lunch before a business meeting, and popped in....it had to have been a least a pound of lobster, no shell whatsoever...the girls at the counter were nice and efficient and friendly. I would definitely stop back by....there's also considerable outdoor seating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollybelle210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Some things just don't need explaining”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Killer fried whole clams.

Killer.

Eat them.

Eat them here.

Drive her to eat them.

If you need more that this recommendation to eat here, skip my reviews in the future.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing