We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Surf

Surf
Ranked #2 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We eat here on recommendation from our hotel, it was an excellent choice food was very good,wines reasonable for the type of place. Service good. It was very busy and rather noisy. Recommended if you are In the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    251
    77
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haddock crepes were AMAZING!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just went to Surf Portsmouth and had the Haddock Crepes. They were amazing! Perfectly prepared! Can't wait to go back! We need Surf up in North Conway, N.H.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Perfect chowder”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hunger was not our big issue when we arrived here, so wanted to taste some authenic New England chower and My wife and I were not disappointed.
Great chowder, great service.
View of the bay was perfect addition.
Wished we could have came back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just happened upon this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The meal was wonderful start to finish and our waitress was friendly and helpful. We would definitely eat here again in in the area. Unfortunately, we were only there for one night. The restaurant also had a great view of the harbor and our wonderful waitress answered all of the questions we asked about the area. Wonderful dining experience!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PooreWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only reason I don't give this restaurant 5 stars is due to our 'false' waitress for the evening 13/09. Obviously not particularly interested in being tipped.. So I left 6% (and it pained me to do that. Our tuna starters dishes (hot stones and wasabi + balsamic dips) and Lobster main course options were awesome..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rossmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf also viewed

 

Been to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing