We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the spudsters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #67 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Try the spudsters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped here on our way up to Maine. I got soup and my husband got a burger. My soup was alright, but nothing terribly special. My husband thought his burger was good. I also have to say that I was disappointed that they didn't have diet coke, due to a delivery problem.

As a side, we split an order of spudsters. I have to say that the spusters really made this experience for me... we got them with garlic and parmesan seasoning and a truffle ketchup dip. They were So Good. I think next time I will just just get the spudsters. The menu calls them "gourmet tater tots," but they are crispier and tastier than any tater tots I have ever had. The seasoning and the sauce make them even more special. If you ever go to The Kitchen, try the spudsters.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun and a bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been to the Kitchen for lunch a few times, dinner and had lunch delivered to work. The food is delicious every time. I love their creative twist on sandwiches! You must try the little potato delights! Like a grown up tater tot with some parm cheese and seasonings sprinkled on top. The sauces that come with the potatoes are equally delightful. The first time I ordered them I shared.. and learned that the next time I would get them all for myself! Lunch is casual and relaxed. Order at the counter and pick up your food when ready. I went for dinner one night and we had a waitress. It seems more comfortable being casual. But love the Kitchen!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeygirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Homemade and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

These guys are dedicated to homemade food, made the old fashioned way, and creatively. Worth the stop.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank C-girl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Ok, this place popped up in the space a former favorite of mine previously occupied. The food is excellent, I went two days in a row for the Mikey burger. When you can eat the burger without any condiments and it is fantastic you know you are eating a good burger. Also have delicious desserts and salads. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy, Creative Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Visited on a rainy day for lunch. The line was almost to the door. This is an "order at the counter and find yourself a seat" type of place. The sandwiches, salads, pastas and burgers are listed on a chalkboard with a variety of daily specials. They also have a small bar area and serve alcohol. When your order is ready, they yell your name. It is self-serve.

We were here for lunch, so this review is only for lunch and non-alcoholic beverages. The place was clean and the atmosphere was nice with small and large tables and ordinary chairs. The big front windows let in a lot of light and they have an outside seating area that looks nice with a fence providing a barrier to the street traffic.

My companion ordered a Cuban sandwich, but they were out and he ended up choosing a gorgeous italian type of sub on great crusty bread. I ordered a special, which was a meatload sandwich with shiitake mushrooms and a soy based sauce, however they called me back after realizing they had run out. I felt the pressure to decide quickly and chose a BLT. Both sandwiches were served with a side of fresh crunchy coleslaw and a pickle spear. The sandwiches are about $7-10. A little pricey, but high quality.

All ingredients are top notch, fresh and extremely high quality and creative. The breads are amazing. My only complaint, other than them being out of what we originally wanted, is that the coleslaw is placed directly on the dish with the sandwich, so one of my sandwich halves was soggy on the bottom. NOT COOL. That's the reason they lost one star.

Another person near us had a generous bowl of pasta with vegetables and a creamy sauce. It looked and smelled terrific. Other types of cold salads were in the case, including a nice looking Orzo salad. Another item that made me curious was the Buffalo Pickles, but I didn't have the courage to try one. I can't imagine what a Buffalo Pickle tastes like.

If they get the cole slaw in it's own container and fix the inventory issues, I could see myself frequenting this place much more often. Overall, two thumbs up.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodLustNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing