We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yeah..not into this place all that much!”
Review of Lexie's Joint

Lexie's Joint
Ranked #2 of 205 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 24, 2012

well..my review is mixed..our first time there may be our last as the burgers are tiny..i mean so tiny they are ridiculous..and way over priced..i ate in nyc recently and paid less when compared to the size..the single was not enough to satisfy any of the people in my party..i fear they will simply not stay open if they dont increase the size of the burger..that being said, their cuban sandwich was wonderful and verrrry filling..of course it cost more but it was worth it..i wish it wasnt so loaded with butter/oil..it was literally dripping in it..but the flavor was tasty, very! maybe we will give it another try and see if the reviews initiated change! great location and potential but adjustments need to be made..also, the fact that it is all bar seating stinks..some people arent comfortable sitting on bar stools..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13AMW13, Owner at Lexie's Joint, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback on our restaurant, we always like to hear what our customers have to say whether it be positive or negative. In regards to the size of the burgers, all of our patty's including the chicken, veggie, or any specialty grind we do are 4oz (quarter of a pound) and for those who may be on the hungrier side you can always add a second 4oz patty for just $2 more. Toppings and additions to burgers are fresh, home made items that are made in house and do cost a bit more to make than if you just went to the store to purchase or order them already made/prepped... Our patty's are 100% Angus Beef that we make in house which means they are not frozen and we know what is going into them, that goes for any of our other patty's we make; they are all made in house from scratch using quality ingredients. Anytime you are making good food with quality ingredients the cost is going to be a bit more, seeing as you get what you pay for. We try to keep our prices as affordable as we can, without cutting back on the quality of what you are getting. As for the stools they came with the restaurant when we bought it, and we are not huge fans of them ourselves! We are in the process of trying to lower the high top tables, add a couple more seats and get chairs... hopefully by the summer time we should have those changes in place. We hope that you will try us out again and please feel free to seek out myself (Lexie) or KC if you do come in we'd love to chat with you in person! Thanks again for the review, we really appreciate the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 421 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We love Lexie's joint burgers! The milkshakes are also amazing. The problem is that the service is hit or miss. Some days, you get great service. Some days you don't. BUT... the burgers are so good, they make up for the terrible service. The Burning Down the House burger can not be beat. It will keep us coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slapinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13AMW13, Owner at Lexie's Joint, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate hearing it all (good, bad & constructive) and feel as though it's the only way to make customers experiences better and fix any issues that we have. We always try to give our customers the best service we can, and find it unfortunate that you find Lexie's Joint so hit or miss... Please feel free to contact us through our website or give a call to the restaurant and ask for KC or Lexie to let us know perhaps how we can alleviate the service issues you have had in the past. We want you to keep coming back not only for the food, but for quality, friendly service as well! Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Some friends suggested that we stop here and try a burger on our way back to Boston. So glad we did. My husband and I had the best burgers of our lives. Also, our three children who are all very picky eaters were raving about their food and ate every morsel....which never happens. Great atmosphere. We are already looking for an excuse to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stopped here after a day at the beach. Place is cute as a button, but I left with sticker shock. Small shakes are $4 and so, too the Plain Jane Burger which is the same size as a regular McDonald's burger, but comes with shredded lettuce. The burger was slightly pink in the middle, which is fine with me, but I know some people might be put off by not being asked how they would like their burger cooked. Also, the more you want on your burger, the more it'll cost you. For example, it's an extra $.75 for avocado. For out party of 3, the bill came to $28.71 for 3 small burgers and 3 small milkshakes. Nothing else! It didn't fill us up at all. It was simply an afternoon snack. For that price, there are better hamburgers to be had elsewhere. Also, be advised, these burgers are super juicy/greasy ... they leak lots and you'll go through lots of napkins!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mizlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13AMW13, Owner at Lexie's Joint, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for your review that you wrote a while back, we really appreciate hearing responses from our customers. We know that we can't grow and/or improve if we don't hear back from "the people" who are coming into our restaurant and letting us know what's up. I am really sorry that you felt as though your burgers were small and overpriced, as well as your milkshakes... The burgers are all 4oz which is relative to the size of a burger from McDonald's, but ours are made fresh daily (never frozen) by hand with 100% Angus Beef. The toppings are all fresh made & prepared in house also, which always makes for better taste/ quality and also costs a little bit more to do than if we bought stuff already prepped from food distributors or at the store. Our 16oz milkshake is made with Gifford's Premium Ice Cream and is comparable in cost/size to other milkshakes you might get somewhere else. I hope that you can understand why things here may cost a bit more than a fast food chain... we are serving a fresh, quality product that is made in house daily. Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will stop back in someday in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have heard a few people rave about this place and finally tried it today. The burger I had was good. The fries of the day had cumin, curry aioli and ketchup and were probably the best fries I have ever had. And, I had a cucumber mint lemonade which was very tasty and refreshing. Not a lot of parking or seats. Worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Napalicoastkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexie's Joint also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Lexie's Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing