We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like any other fast-food Chinese, ugh!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xin Ping - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Xin Ping
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
North of Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just like any other fast-food Chinese, ugh!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is nothing different about this place than any other fast-food Chinese restaurant. Just about anything you buy, if you let it sit for a while (or leftovers) there will be coagulated sauce in the food.

I once asked one of the workers if they ate this food, and they said 'No, no. I eat steamed rice and vegetables.' Well, they do have steamed rice and vegetables on the menu, but apparently that is even good enough for that worker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllThreeOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HAIR IN FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Despite having read the below complaint about finding hair in food, I ordered take out tonight. Sure enough, big black disgusting long hair in my chicken lo mein.... OMGGGGGG
Threw the entire meal out. WEAR HAIR NETS!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hair_in_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fast food Chinese in area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

If you are looking for some quick Chinese takeout in the area, then this is the place.
Like most such places, decor is minimial and service is focused on speed.
Fast, tasty, and decent.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hair! Need I say more.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I typically order from Xin Ping once a week as I work just down the street and the food is good. But not anymore. Today I ordered lunch and it came with a nice big black HAIR!! I then thought about my past visits and they do not wear hair nets and if you watch them as you're paying no one wears gloves. Extremely disappointed. I will have to find a new chinese restaurant sans the hair!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djasuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I love Xin Ping, there I said it. I've been getting food from them for years and they've never disappointed. The food is always fresh, hot, and delicious. The prices are low too compared to other places in town. And they deliver pretty much anywhere!

I recommend the Chicken Wings, Sesame Chicken, or the Singapore Curry Noodles. They sure give you a boatload of food too, and who doesn't love Chinese leftovers?

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluephlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xin Ping also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing