We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Classic Diner with big selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roundabout Diner & Lounge

The Roundabout Diner & Lounge
Ranked #8 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Roundabout Diner and Lounge, we serve breakfast all day, great burgers and sandwiches, Phantom Gourmet award-winning BBQ, comfort food classics like meatloaf, roast turkey, and of course, local New England favorites like fish and chips, and the best lobster roll around. We also use locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, like bread baked just for us by When Pigs Fly Bakery, breakfast sausage made for us in Vermont, local cheeses, and more. And we make all our delicious cakes and pies right here at the Roundabout. From scratch! If you would like us to cater one of your events then look no further than Chill Catering, one of the largest catering companies on the seacoast.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice Classic Diner with big selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed next door at the Holiday Inn and went for breakfast a few times and dinner once. We really enjoyed the breakfast with a nice large selection to choose from. The portions were large. The staff was friendly. The prices are maybe a little higher than some other diners. We also tried it for dinner one night and again a nice menu selection and good portions. This definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    199
    79
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
346 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not quite an all-night diner but an excellent choice if you are near Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Besides the regular diner stuff...malteds, burgers, fires...you can find things like pumpkin bisque on the menu here. We had breakfast at 9 PM on one day and dinner the same time the next day. All meals were really quite good. Nice little surprises lime a deep fried pickle garnish on top of a grilled cheese sandwich lift this place a few notches above ordinary. The baked goods assortment...none that I could see looked like it came from a commercial bakery...was a pleasant surprise. I had a truly homemade blueberry pie and, if I'm ever in the area again, I'll ask for it again because I will remember it! Breakfast pancakes were large, hot and delicious. I added chocolate chips and blueberries and I was smiling for a few hours afterward.. They have a bar and plenty of tap beers. Have fun with the fifties decor and music.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Restaurant the old fashion way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have had breakfast and lunch here. Love the food. Great selection. Wonderful Staff. Food cooked to perfection

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dasil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“huge breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

place was plenty clean and busy, breakfast came quickly, was super yummy, and was plenty big, lots of leftovers, will definitely be back when i come through town again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise-and-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Blast From The Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are looking for good comfort food in a retro setting, then this is the place for you.
With great doo-wop playing in the background and authentic looking recreation of an
old diner, this was a great place to eat. The food is what you'd expect from a classic
diner, delicious and large portions. If you find yourself in Portsmouth, NH, give this
spot a whirl.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyKay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundabout Diner & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Roundabout Diner & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing