We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast off I-95 in NH”

The Roundabout Diner & Lounge
Ranked #10 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: At the Roundabout Diner and Lounge, we serve breakfast all day, great burgers and sandwiches, Phantom Gourmet award-winning BBQ, comfort food classics like meatloaf, roast turkey, and of course, local New England favorites like fish and chips, and the best lobster roll around. We also use locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, like bread baked just for us by When Pigs Fly Bakery, breakfast sausage made for us in Vermont, local cheeses, and more. And we make all our delicious cakes and pies right here at the Roundabout. From scratch! If you would like us to cater one of your events then look no further than Chill Catering, one of the largest catering companies on the seacoast.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast off I-95 in NH”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Easy off/on I-95 in Portsmouth NH. Funky and fun throwback style diner. We had breakfast. Pretty good menu selection, interesting specials, good service, and good fresh food. Liked the corned beef hash. Convenient and will drop in again when passing through.

Helpful?
Thank zensations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    203
    84
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast all day!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I will never ever have French toast anywhere else again in my life after having the Grand Marnier French toast here. They use challah bread and top it with powdered sugar and fruit (big fat Maine blueberries in my case). Next time we're going to try the breakfast buffet. My friend and I come to Portsmouth every year to Christmas shop and this diner is now on our permanent "to do" list!! The coffee was excellent, also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bossmaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In Love WithTheir French Toast”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This diner is a treat! Convenient in the Portsmouth Circle, it serves breakfast all day long and has plenty other selections. We had breakfast for lunch on a Sunday, when they also offered a buffet and a make your own Bloody Mary.
The French Toast was to die for. Made with cinnamon and Grande Marnier on Challa Bread and their Omelet of the Day had to be the best I have ever had.
Restaurant is clean and service good as is the coffee! You are missing out if you don't go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smalleststate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE PORPOISE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous corn beef hash!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast at the Roundabout yesterday because I had a Limelight certificate. I hadn't been in this spot since it was Bickford's years ago, and I didn't even recognize the place. Although it is large, the whole place has the atmosphere of a 1950's diner. We each had breakfast, and in both cases the food was amazing! The high points were the corn beef hash, the beans, and the bacon. Our waitress was quick and attentive even though the place was busy. I can't wait to return and try options from the lunch/dinner menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heavenly Breakfast”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Words can't describe how amazing the food was (and coffee!). The service was exceptional as well. You REALLY have to stop and see this places menu and pick ANYTHING. It's all sooooo good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundabout Diner & Lounge also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The Roundabout Diner & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing