We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best diner experience with great homemade food!”

The Roundabout Diner & Lounge
Ranked #8 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Roundabout Diner and Lounge, we serve breakfast all day, great burgers and sandwiches, Phantom Gourmet award-winning BBQ, comfort food classics like meatloaf, roast turkey, and of course, local New England favorites like fish and chips, and the best lobster roll around. We also use locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, like bread baked just for us by When Pigs Fly Bakery, breakfast sausage made for us in Vermont, local cheeses, and more. And we make all our delicious cakes and pies right here at the Roundabout. From scratch! If you would like us to cater one of your events then look no further than Chill Catering, one of the largest catering companies on the seacoast.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best diner experience with great homemade food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Service is warm and friendly and the food is outstanding. This is the diner of yesteryear. You must have a slice of their pies!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    201
    81
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Roundabout diner has an extensive menu and is really delicious. Breakfast there is great especially the omeletes and some breakfast items are served all day. They have a fabulous pulled pork sandwich and desserts are homemade, fresh and irresistable. The atmosphere is straight out of the 1950's. It's a go to for those nights we want to grab something fast, tasty and affordable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreeRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
238 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Heading back home to Maine from Boston and wasn't quite sure where to stop for a bite to eat. Remembered there used to be a couple of different restaurants at this location and took the Portsmouth exit to the rotary. Parking lot full which is usually a good sign. We went in and got seated at a booth immediately. The Lounge is in a separate room and there was no room at the counter. Our server came right over, took our beverage order and we placed our food order when she returned. We were served within 12 minutes and the plates were full. I ordered a BLT which came grilled with fried pickles and waffle fries. My friend had a burger with onions and mushrooms accompanied by fried pickles and waffle fries. My grilled sandwich was nice and crunchy, the bacon well done as requested. However, the bacon was lacking the all-important bacon flavor. Waffle fries were yummy and the burger was perfect. Neither of us tried the pickle. The atmosphere is good, lots of memerobilia and good tunes. All in all I would give it another chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsg1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, fast, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have had breakfast here twice - food is good, with lots of organic, vegetarian and all-natural options and traditional diner fare. Conveniently located with plenty of parking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen03903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

9 of us had lunch. The reubin was terrible, corned beef was to thick and tough. The fish and chips were terrible, maybe not fresh fish. The haddock sandwich was overcooked. Turkey club was good. Tuna melt was good. I would try somewhere else..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SALEM_JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager at The Roundabout Diner & Lounge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review. We'd like to apologize for your poor experience here. It is customer reviews like your that help us to constantly improve our consistantly great food and service. This matter is actively being looked into and will be resolved. As always, we encourage any customer to contact a manger with any questions, comments or complaints. (603) 431-1440. Thanks again! Roundabout management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundabout Diner & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Roundabout Diner & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing