We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else”

The Roundabout Diner & Lounge
Ranked #8 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Roundabout Diner and Lounge, we serve breakfast all day, great burgers and sandwiches, Phantom Gourmet award-winning BBQ, comfort food classics like meatloaf, roast turkey, and of course, local New England favorites like fish and chips, and the best lobster roll around. We also use locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, like bread baked just for us by When Pigs Fly Bakery, breakfast sausage made for us in Vermont, local cheeses, and more. And we make all our delicious cakes and pies right here at the Roundabout. From scratch! If you would like us to cater one of your events then look no further than Chill Catering, one of the largest catering companies on the seacoast.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

9 of us had lunch. The reubin was terrible, corned beef was to thick and tough. The fish and chips were terrible, maybe not fresh fish. The haddock sandwich was overcooked. Turkey club was good. Tuna melt was good. I would try somewhere else..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SALEM_JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager at The Roundabout Diner & Lounge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review. We'd like to apologize for your poor experience here. It is customer reviews like your that help us to constantly improve our consistantly great food and service. This matter is actively being looked into and will be resolved. As always, we encourage any customer to contact a manger with any questions, comments or complaints. (603) 431-1440. Thanks again! Roundabout management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    201
    80
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rises above usual diner fare”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Sure this is a diner, but they don't just assume you want fries. They have other healthy choices. Wonderful chill and lots of it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewHampster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up-scale diner with surprisingly inventive takes on comfort food.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We pulled into Portsmouth late, hungry and tired. We stumbled onto the Roundabout (because we missed our actual roundabout exit) and were happy we did. (Several locals recommended it during our stay, but we hadn't talked to anyone at that point).

The place is huge and we were seated promptly. We got good descriptions from the waitress (who also quickly and efficiently checked with the chef about our many dietary restrictions). No arched eyebrows, just an apparently genuine desire to get it right for us.

I ordered the lobster club and now i wonder why east coasters eat their lobster sandwiches any other way. The club consists of a large portion of lobster, avocado, bacon, lettuce and tomato. Great proportions so that the lobster taste is predominant and enhanced by bacon and avocado. It was huge and I shared with a friend. Another member of our party had the haddock fish and chips in panko batter. We are fish eaters from the west coast and we thought these were some of the best fish and chips we'd ever eaten. The fish was moist and the batter crisp (like a good hushpuppy). That's hard to do. The portions were again enough to share happily. We all tasted the wild Maine blueberry pie and it was good. Heavy on those tasty little Maine berries, light on filler, decent flaky crust.

I think you'll love it. At the worst, you'll like it. Plan on sharing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marthainoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good experience overall”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is great for family dining. We were suprised by the wait time for our food but it was good overall. Tried the pulled pork and it was delicious. Don't be deterred by the restaurant being attached to a hotel, it's worthy of a visit and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_zoozies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick Stop for Dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My daughter and I landed here for a late weeknight dinner after making a wrong turn. We were not disappointed. The service was friendly and VERY fast. The turkey dinner was good (though maybe too large), but the macaroni and cheese was a bit disappointing. The waffle fries are not to be missed--very crispy and worth the calories. My guess is that breakfast, which is served all day, would be an excellent option here. I would stop here again when traveling through Maine--a good choice for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundabout Diner & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Roundabout Diner & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing