We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Portsmouth is such a great city to be downtown in, and finally a hotel that delivers what you need with the convenience of being in the middle of it all. I grew up in the Portsmouth area, and for years the only hotels were cheesy ones at the traffic circle, seasonal properties on the beach or the Sheraton downtown. This Residence Inn makes a notable addition of a downtown hotel.

And a great addition it is. Located in the new 'Port Walk' project, we were just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do in town - shopping, restaurants and bars, and the 4th of July fireworks. There is a large parking lot adjacent to the property which is helpful considering the challenges in parking in Portsmouth at peak times, though valeting the car may still be easier.

The rooms were clean (granted the hotel had only been open a few weeks...) appliances were modern and the furnishings fresh. The bathroom was HUGE, but have to say the one thing that was very disappointing was the virtually non-existent water pressure in the shower.

The King suite we had was comfortable, though I think it might be tight for more than a two or three people to stay for any length of time. Perhaps the other rooms are more spacious.. The price of the room was a little high, but comparable to the Hilton Garden Inn next door, so we chose the suite instead to have the extra room to entertain friends and family.

I didn't use any of the amenities, but there is a large lobby area with outlets and tables to work at if you are tired of being locked up in your room, comfortable seating areas and a bar area that looked to be open at night.

I'd stay here again and recommend it to others!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank QuigsTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

June 19th 2010
My husband and I love the city of Portsmouth and had seen there was a new Residence Inn right in the downtown/ waterfront area. Now I have to admit I love Marriott but seldom stay at a Residence Inn because of the quality and service of most of them. We decided to take a chance because of the location. It is 1 block from shopping, waterfront, great restaurants and nightlife It is also walking distance to Prescott Park and Strawberry Banke!! Yes, there is a $12 valet only parking fee but you don't need your car for anything else and the car is safe! The decor is soft colors of the seaside and crisp and new. The furniture is good quality---meaning you don't sink to the floor when you sit down! There is a full kitchen and a huge bathroom with an oversized shower. Windows open if the is a nice seabreeze but if not the air conditioning goes down to 60! Best of all was the king sized bed which was extremely comfortable and a great TV. Keep in mind this is a brand new RI and not the other one which is on the outskirts of Portsmouth!!! RI's offer a free hot breakfast and this was the only shortcoming--the quality of the eggs and potatoes were shaky but there was plenty of other food. Everyone we dealt with was totally happy and anxious to help. I would go back there any chance I get!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHampshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Great location and easy walking to everything Portsmouth has to offer. Because the Hotel was so new they were having some challenges getting things right, we were up and down the elevator 3 times before we had the right room. The manager was nice enough to comp us a free pizza for our troubles, no big deal. The rooms are spacious and very well equiped. Nice lobby and bar, complimentary breakfast which was again a bit of a challenge because the property had only been open for a week and the staff was still figuring things out, I am sure they will get it together.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank ladelave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColwenHotels-MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank lesponeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meggyMilanoLombardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korben79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $208 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Marriott, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing