We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Home Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Home Base”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is your typical, but new, Residence Inn. That's a good thing in our book. They maintain a great level of cleanliness and service. The rooms are spacious and you can really spread out, get some work done and see the sights. We walked everywhere, the location is perfect. The staff was extremely helpful. We purchased too many items and they took care of shipping everything home in the cheapest and most expeditious manner. The lobby was larger than most with plenty of meeting space. Breakfast was the usual, good, set up. We didn't experience the noise issues noted by others.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor and far from an elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel maintains a high level of environmentally conscious practices. It can be seen throughout the property. You'll be impressed!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KzMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    142
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
147
183
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very clean with a very attentive staff, but by far the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. As others have posted, you hear everything...yes everything..conversations from the room above you..water (PVC drains are noisy), walking, the squeaky door above and besides you..Not really typical ambient noise for a hotel...the banging as you walk..like a three decker house. It seems like a very nice but flimsy bldg with not much noise abatement at all. It is a real shame given the great service, location etc. If I came back, I would ask for the top floor.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good..doing their part. The master switches make it easy to shut off the lights as well as turn them on when you return.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Vinny,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown Portsmouth location, friendly staff, and clean accommodations, I sincerely apologize for the ambient noise that disturbed your sleep during your stay with us. We are currently looking into noise dampening solutions and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a restful, comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
270 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for a girls' weekend and found it a great home base. The hotel is quite new (or newly renovated) and very clean with suites including a bedroom, bath, seating area and kitchenette. It's in a good location within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Not luxe accommodations, but very clean and highly functional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed there for one night coming from Boston heading towards Portland. The rooms and the beds seemed to be pretty new and I felt very comfortable in this room. The only thing I missed in my room was a desk with a chair to work with the notebook. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the market square where you will find most of the restaurants. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and a exercise room mainly for cardio and some weights which more or less fits the purpose. Amanda on the reception is extremly friendly and helpful. Just a dream. Although I did not made this same good experience with some of the others at the reception. I also met a very friendly staff during breakfast, where I can't remember her name. The parking is only Valet and it's pretty costly over night. You' d better try to find a parking lot along the street, where it is free from 7pm to 9am. Definitely a place to come back.
For asian food lovers: go to the 5Thai Bistro (40 Pleasant St, Portsmouth) and have a Massaman Curry for about 15USD. Delicious!

Room Tip: Room 231 towards the main entrance is ok, but there is currently a construction site in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balurox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I cant say enough good things about this hotel. It was a great experience and value. The staff is amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious. Front desk, Penelope and the maintenance staff with the beard helped us so much. The location is perfect and close to everything in the city. We had 3 rooms, and the corner room was our favorite since it felt like a real kitchen area with dinning table/island. The full breakfast exceeded our expectations. I expected cereal and coffee. They had a waffle maker, 3 hot options such as eggs, egg whites, sausages, potatoes. The Biscuits were divine, some of the best I have had. We did not expect this level of food. There were plenty of healthy options, but we were recovering from a bridal shower weekend, and we needed carbs and coffee. There were lots of groups that night. A few wedding parties, bachelorettes and weekend-getaways girls. The hotel was sold out, but did not feel it and it was not loud. It was well balanced. The only thing we needed was more ice, since our drink consumption could not keep up with the fridge ice maker.

I had stayed at the Sheraton as well, but these rooms had a better value experience. I would recommend this hotel and I am planning on returning in the Fall.

Room Tip: Room 215 corner suite has a bathroom that is ADA. I called it a "drunk tank" since it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulezPowerDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thorough review for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you consider us to be the best hotel in Portsmouth. Every member of our staff strives to make each guest's experience a memorable one and we're pleased to have succeeded during your visit. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to Penelope and the rest of the staff; we appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for the 5-star recommendation to the travel community and we look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April and found everyone on the staff from the front desk personnel to the housekeeping staff to the valets to kitchen staff to be very attentive, helpful and friendly. Our suite was very spacious, clean and neat. The location couldn't be beat as it was within easy walking distance of downtown Portsmouth and nearby areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryG0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel before, but my most recent visit was not in line with others' posts. I checked in late after driving a long distance, and the front desk attendant was not friendly at all! He was rather rude and not characteristic of Marriott hotel employees or staff at all. It caught me a bit off guard. The staff is part of the whole experience, and can make or break a stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for reviewing your recent stay with us. I apologize for the unsatisfying customer service you experienced and hope you'll give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent stay, every time.

Sincerely,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing