We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Clean”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

In the center of downtown. Accommodating staff, fresh chocolate chip cookies upon check in, complimentary dinner M-Thurs. Double sided elevators which was pretty cool.

Room: amazingly clean! Heat effective and quiet! Bathroom, clean with great water pressure and no issues with getting hot water! Shampoos, conditioners and lotion the best smelling things I've used from a hotel in a long time. Bed comfortable with crisp clean linens.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that everything from our convenient location to our accommodating staff exceeded your expectations. In regard to the cookies, complimentary dinner, and bathroom toiletries, we take pride in paying attention to detail and hope that those small touches make our guests' experience memorable. Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our hotel. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Portsmouth.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    142
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
146
182
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend adventure in the Portsmouth area. The location is perfect for walking to anywhere downtown. It only takes 3 minutes of easy walking to get to Market Square and all of its things to do. It's pretty easy to get to the hotel by car, as well. Make sure you're prepared for the $18 per night valet parking charge. The valets themselves were very courteous, and the car was delivered up promptly, even in high volume times. The staff at this hotel is really quite extraordinary. They take every opportunity to make sure you are well taken care of. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best examples I have seen. My wife was impressed with their offering of scrambled egg whites, along with traditional scrambled eggs. It's the small things that help you think you're sticking to your diet on a weekend away. The room we were in was on the side of the building where construction is going on across the narrow street. We didn't spend a ton of time in the room during the daylight hours but when we were there, it wasn't very loud. It's very possible you'll hear something outside but it wasn't bad for us. The room itself was well appointed with a good sized fridge, a two-burner stove top and a good sized microwave. It even had a small dishwasher, which was great after we cooked ourselves lunch one afternoon using the included pots,pans and utensils. The sofa and lounge chair were comfortable and the Samsung TV was nice. The bathroom was pleasant, but I found the shower a little odd. It has a large, clear pane of glass about 2/3 of the way down its length and no curtain. Water inevitably gets all over the floor - make sure to put down the bath mat. There was no tub to soak in, though we didn't want to. The mattress was really quite firm which is OK for me, but my wife was a bit displeased. On our second night, there was a serious amount of noise above us (we were on floor 4 of 5). It sounded like children running around and banging into everything. It eventually died down but, seriously, if you're in a hotel please consider the others around and under you.

To recap, this was a truly nice hotel. Everything was exceptionally clean, and the housekeeping staff was pleasant. The breakfast options are great and the location can't be beat in Portsmouth. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalvinr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your thorough review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a 5-star stay and that you enjoyed our amenities and everything that our downtown Portsmouth location has to offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

To begin with, the staff was very accommodating. We had to cancel on the day of arrival & were able to re-book without any penalty. When we arrived a few days later we were given a suite on the side of the building where construction was going on, which meant there was some noise, & we were immediately able to move to the other side of the building. Every other interaction with the staff was equally amiable. The room itself was spacious & clean with plenty of amenities--loved all the available & accessible outlets. Full-sized refrigerator & stove as well as microwave gave us plenty of dining options. The hotel's breakfast was bounteous & tasty, a big plus, & served in an attractive space. Location couldn't be better for walking in a city full of places to walk to. One of the restaurants we went to was literally visible from our room. Only (& highly personal) quirk: the walk-in shower, doorless & sporting a glass so transparent you might actually walk into it, could use a bit of grisaille. And then, after 5 miles & more of walking, I'd have loved to sink into a warm bath. Not exactly a serpent in the garden, but a small detail that keeps this review from being even more enthusiastic. Oh, & I should mention the $18 a night valet parking fee, though that seems standard in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a great place! Four college friends and I had two adjoining suites, which was PERFECT. The beds were comfortable, as were the couches (where we spent plenty of time reminiscing). The kitchens were just right to store all our snacks and beverages (we are in our 40s - we didn't trash the place, but it was Super Bowl weekend, after all...). The staff - from the valet for our cars, the people at the front desk and the people helping in the kitchen - were extremely friendly and helpful and seemed to embrace our energy. We all would highly recommend staying here.

Green Features: One of us literally saves whales for a living, and was pleased with the recycling trash cans in the room and how - as requested - we could reuse all our linens.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Lisa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us over Super Bowl weekend. I'm happy to hear that our staff and amenities provided you and your friends with everything you needed to have an excellent experience. We appreciate your feedback and your recommendation to the TripAdvisor community. Come back and visit us again soon!

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel at least half a dozen times, and my customer experience is always first rate. The front desk staff always makes me feel welcome (they remember my name, and have left welcome notes in my room) and I look forward to seeing them when I return. A special recommendation to Heather Fournier (Front Desk Supervisor) who demostrates the best in guess relations, friendliness and professionalism. There are three similar hotels in downtown Portsmouth, but this is the one that earns my business.

Green Features: This hotel is extremely environmentally friendly. They have signage around the hotel to explain the measures that they take, yet it does not in any way impact the overall guest experience.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishersrunner42k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your return patronage and for reviewing our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you consistently experience great customer service while staying with us. I will pass your compliments along to the team; we appreciate the feedback. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting your next stay in Portsmouth.

Best,
Chris Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Residence Inn twice in the past 30 days. As seasoned travelers, I have never had better experiences. The facility is clean and very well-maintained, and the food for breakfast and select evenings is superb. The staff is outstanding - everyone from top management down are friendly, courteous and always willing to help. There are many individuals who are "making a difference", and two in particular have gone over the top to assist. Special thanks and kudos go out to Heather Fournier and Amanda Troup. They are the bomb!!!!
There are many others (some names I don't remember) but Francesca, Carly, Marija, Megan and Kayla who are also great.....
We would stay here any time we come back to the East Coast.
Thanks again to them all.....
Dave Young

Room Tip: Looking towards the NH-Maine bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dave,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of your experience. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed not only our hotel, but our friendly staff as well. We appreciate the feedback and I'll be sure to share your compliments with the team. Thank you for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Chris Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in November 2012 for our daughter's wedding. Our group reserved 40 rooms in the hotel- some folks stayed as long as a week. Everyone had nothing but high praise for all aspects of their staff. The staff was wonderful to work with during the planning process and very adaptable as many guests had to make last minute changes to their reservations due to travel delays due to Hurricane Sandy. The staff was friendly, courteous and committed to making our family and all of our guests have a memorable visit to Portsmouth. Of particular note were the quality of the accommodations, the fabulous breakfast, the bar and front desk staff and the pool. If you are planning a special event in downtown Portsmouth or a visit to the city definitely visit the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: The corner suites are a little larger and great if more than two people staying in the suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: A green hotel from design through operating practices.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macs8259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. It's never too late to tell us about your stay! I'm pleased to hear that you and the other guests of your daughter's wedding enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and I will pass your compliments along to the staff. I hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in Portsmouth.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing