We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Group of us went to NH for Portsmouth First Night.. The hotel was very nice, clean and staff was really nice, helpful and upbeat. Rooms were more than I expected, had refrig, and stove, and coffee pot, toaster... We enjoyed drinks in the lobby, and the free breakfast included!!

Room Tip: we were in a room near exit on the third floor. not near elevator.. Only noise was a child upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinimom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 527 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Upon arriving at our hotel of choice (the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downton/Waterfront), we were greeted with smiles and amazing attention. Heather and Carly, who both greeted us at the front desk, were superb with welcoming us and attending to our families needs. The way that they handled all check ins with families with multiple children was effortless. They were the definition of customer service. Brian another hotel staff member was so accomodating and went out of his way to help with our pack and play and luggage. They all were so attentive and helpful that my wife didn't need to lift a finger. It provided our family with such a relaxing experience that it made us wish all other hotels and hotel staff were to follow their lead. They must have amazing leadership at the Residence Inn in Downtown Portsmouth. I can only wish I could hire and retain amazing employees like this. My wife and I will be visiting for many years to come due to the amazing experience. We can't thank you guys enough!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmalt877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and consider our staff to have exhibited "the definition of customer service." I will pass your compliments along to them. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best,
Christopher Moulton, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We like Portsmouth a lot and have stayed at other nearby hotels; so far this one is by far our favorite. Friendly service, a large clean room, and a very good breakfast included. The price was also excellent. The only issue we encountered was a noisy heating unit but that was fixed almost immediately. We reserved a suite, and I'd recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I found the staff at the Residence Inn to be extremely helpful and friendly, it started with the valet, I did not catch her name, but it was great to meet a smiling face who was eager to help the moment we pulled in. The customer service continued at check-in with Heather at the front desk who was helpful and offered great suggestions of places to eat. The next morning it continued with a friendly maid and breakfast area staff. On the snowy mornings the car was completely cleaned and ready to go when we called. Great service.
The rooms were clean and comfortable as one would expect at a Marriott property, a very enjoyable place to stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDCononver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome trip! Arrived thanksgiving morning and a wonderful weekend tromping around New Hampshire and Maine seeing the sites. Room was very clean and high class but never really warmed up even with heat on high. The breakfast was varied and the staff warm and extremely friendly. The women who worked busing the breakfast area went above and beyond her duties helping families with children and always being warm and pleasant. Overall a very nice experience and would definitely would return.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Kris10de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well-located and has great staff. The breakfast staff were especially forthcoming.

They messed up my booking and offered a free upgrade quickly.

We were there over the thanksgiving weekend and it was obvious that they were not prepared for such a large breakfast crowd. Queue was long, utensils were not replenished quickly so on two mornings I ate with one metal knife and one plastic fork. They serve smuckers syrup and not real NH maple syrup which is disappointing.

Overall it's still pricey cos the hotel is not as new and well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff at the hotel is awesome. When we first checked in Heather was very friendly and got us the exact room that we needed. She went above and beyond. Then the kitchen staff is amazing. Marija was very helpful, friendly and cheery even at 5:30am. She opened the breakfast area 30 minutes early for my two young kids! The food was really good too. I can't believe that that a full breakfast buffet is included! Most hotels charge $15-20 per person for the same guality food. Blago did a great job preparing the food. When I had to extend my stay Andrew was very helpful and worked with me. The room was spacious and clean! I will defintely stay here again. Great experience from beginning to end!

Room Tip: I really liked staying on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make each guest feel comfortable and at home in our hotel. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you visit us again soon!

Best,
Chris Moulton, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $189 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing