We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My now husband and I spent two nights here after our wedding as a little get away from the craziness a wedding brings. It was a great experience at the hotel. Bed was super comfortable, plenty of space for us to spread out our 6 months old toys and pack and play and the added perk of a full kitchen added that perfect touch. We loved the daily included breakfast that had hot and cold options which were tasty and not "fake" food. Our check in was smooth as was our check out. Room was clean, fresh and modern. I didnt hear anyone else walking around or making noise. The only downfall was that we were on the back side of the hotel away from the construction (which was good) but we heard all the in and out of the staff emptying trash or the dumpsters being emptied in the very early morning hours. But that was tolerable and didnt make my stay bad. I would definatly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanier76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 525 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights while exploring all that the charming old city of Portsmouth has to offer. We were very satisfied with our experience. The staff is welcoming and polite. Heather, who checked us in, was a friendly and helpful presence throughout our stay. The same can be said of the other hotel personnel, including the housekeeping staff. These are people who enjoy their jobs and it shows. Our room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was very good in variety, quality and freshness. And the staff members maintaining the breakfast were helpful and courteous. This hotel and its staff have earned our loyalty. We will be staying with them whenever we return to Portsmouth.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Yankee26Soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a great location! Located walking distance to Market Street, Congress Street. Amazing staff. Front desk staff are very accommodating to guest and any requests. Breakfast (only meal offered) included with room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struckdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed twice at the Residence Inn Portsmouth last month and loved our visits on both occasions. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and spacious with a large bathroom and wonderful walk-in shower. The hotel is conveniently located for walking in downtown Portsmouth. What made our visit there especially memorable, though, was the friendly and helpful staff from the receptionists at the front desk to the hostesses, like Marija, that help with breakfast; they all made our visit so enjoyable. One morning we mentioned to maintenance a minor problem with the bathroom door, and they had it fixed before we returned from breakfast. A great hotel for visiting Portsmouth whether on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shotsdj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed back in June for a quick weekend getaway and the bed was the best we have experienced at any Marriott. We loved the bed, from the hotel you can easily walk anywhere in Portsmouth. From the downtown area to Strawberry Banke to the Waterfront, everything is easily accessible.

Typically if we are staying at a Residence Inn it is because we are around for awhile and will make use of the kitchen. We did not make use of the kitchen this visit but it was fully stocked and clean.

It rained heavily one day of our trip and the hotel was gracious enough to provide an umbrella for us to use and even let me borrow a charger for my cellphone.

The one downer is that there is no self parking, you must use valet but you can come and go as you please. Construction was going on across the street but since we were there on the weekend it did not disrupt us. If the new building is large enough it could block the great view we had of the water from the 6th floor.

The staff was excellent, the breakfast was decent enough and it was hard to beat the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a family wedding in Portsmouth this past August most family and friends stayed at the Residence Inn as the reception was being held there, we couldn't have made a better choice. Brittany and everyone couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant which made a wonderful wedding experience even better.

I highly recommend the Residence Inn for location, clean well appointed rooms, friendly staff, everyone was cheerful and committed to making our stay a pleasure, and Portsmouth is just a fun city to visit. We are looking forward to staying here again and enjoying the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed one night and found the room (all the rooms) to be a two room suite with a full frig and small flat surface stove, microwave, dishwasher, etc. The staff was outstanding and very accommodating, from the front desk through maid service and breakfast staff. The breakfast that came with the room was very good with a extremely large choice of foods. The hotel does not have a restaurant but did supply milk when asked in the late evening. The best part is Portsmouth downtown is within a block and has a lot of restaurants. Be forewarned that parking is either $18 (overnight) for Residence Inn valet or self parking in the Sheraton parking lot across the street at $18 per calendar day (ie. arrive in late afternoon and leave next day before noon and you are out $36 in the Sheraton credit card parking lot.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photo-2_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $209 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing