We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Time at the Residence Inn Portsmouth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great Time at the Residence Inn Portsmouth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our one year old son in a king suite for three nights. I've stayed at many Marriott branded properties and this was one of the best. The room was clean, beautifully furnished, and exactly what we needed with a little one. Breakfast was really great too and we enjoyed the breakfast burritos more than anything else!

We also had an instance late in the day where our son spilled some milk on the bed while napping. We were leaving the hotel to go out to dinner and we asked at the front desk for our sheets to be changed (and to drop off a few pillows). Well, when we got back later that night, our bed was clean, more pillows were added, and Joey Pratt (the housekeeping inspector) left us a really nice note! First class all the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    126
    24
    11
    1
See reviews for
132
158
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Residence Inn is close to everything. The rooms are spacious, efficient, clean and new. You can walk to all of the stores, eateries and water tours. Breakfast is included and the coffee bar set up in the lobby is a nice touch. Employees are very welcoming and eager to help. The only drawback is valet parking for $18 per day and the wait required for car retrieval. They need to have a few additional car valets during check in/out so the wait isn't so long.

Room Tip: Select top floor....5th overlooking glimpse of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Portsmouth Residence Inn. At the heart of the downtown area, it's in a beautiful and convenient location. Rooms are always clean, the breakfast is delicious. My most recent trip a couple of weeks ago was very short, but I wanted to applaud Penelope at the front desk for EXCELLENT service. She was so accommodating and friendly. As someone who works in hospitality, I can't say how much I appreciate that. Will definitely visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 828Kayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
385 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times and it continues to be our favorite hotel in the city. Spacious, clean rooms and an excellent free breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location within easy walking distance of the downtown restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel now has valet parking, as a new hotel is being built on what used to be a parking lot across the street from the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel. Penelope at the front desk greeted us in such a warm and accomodating fashion, we will return. The rooms are top end. The included breakfast was excellent. Portsmouth offers a great downtown and waterfront that has been historicall refurbished to reflect its character. The variety and excellence of its restaurants proved to be much more than we anticipated. Forget Boston and Portland, both great cities but Portsmouth with its size, quality hotels and food accomodations and its milieu met our needs in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnbarony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Portsmouth for one night while traveling between Bar Harbor and Boston. I was extremely impressed with this hotel! The room was gorgeous, spacious and clean! The staff was fantastic. Everyone we ran into was friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast in the morning was great and while we were there our boys were approached by employees who gave them crayons and pages to color as well as glow in the dark bracelets. I wish we could have stayed longer and I think next time we are in the area we will make it a point to stop there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The highlights... 1. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful! 2. The rooms are clean, spacious and have everything you'll need! 3. The breakfast was delicious! 4. The location is great! We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmd711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing