We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, and an outstanding property.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, and an outstanding property.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

With the exception of getting a pair of key cards for the room that initially did not work, had an outstanding stay. Very nice lobby area, and the rooms are great - very clean and spacious. Great location! Parking is available across the street, and curbside parking for check in can sometimes be unavailable. Despite these minor nuisances with parking, we will go back to this hotel again. Downtown Portsmouth is within easy walking distance, one of the great benefits of this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeloShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    127
    24
    12
    1
See reviews for
134
161
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first time staying in Portsmouth, NH. We chose to stay at the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront because of the location and proximity to downtown. The hotel was very busy when we arrived but the staff was extremely helpful and even let us check-in early. The rooms were very spacious and clean. My only complaint would be the parking – we had to wait almost 30 minutes for our valet, so I would recommend giving plenty of notice before you need to leave. Otherwise, the hotel was great, and the location to restaurants/shopping was ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to write a review for this hotel since the staff here were so outstanding and I hope the positive feedback gets back to them. Literally everyone from the front desk people to the cleaning crew to the valet guys were cheerful and helpful to the extreme. They had a free breakfast, free cookies in the afternoon and free snacks on most of the evenings. Free coffee and tea 24/7 as well.

My only complaint was the room was a bit noisy. I could hear the fridge and the heating clicking on and off at night and I could hear the person upstairs clomping around. My window also faced the construction site next door which was really noisy. I have really good hearing though so these things might not bother other people, I am not sure.

The location was excellent - walk to everything - although, weirdly, downtown Portsmouth doesn't seem to have a drugstore (??) The CVS is a mile away which wouldn't even be that bad but the weather was absolutely freezing. Lots of bars (all with live music), restaurants, shopping, etc. easily walkable from the hotel even in freezing temperatures. I did not have a car so that was nice.

All in all, a great stay. Nice hotel and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Residence Inn Downtown Portsmouth while visiting the area for business. From the moment we arrived (at valet parking) to the moment we checked out the staff was so wonderful. They were willing to help with whatever was needed.

The rooms were very spacious and clean for the most part. I happened to look underneath the sheets at one point and it looked like the underside of the mattress was stained for whatever reason, but that was the only thing I found wrong with the room. Everything else was great. In the little basket that has the coffee and sugar packets, there was also a bag of popcorn provided which I thought was a nice touch. Perfect for when my meetings got out late and I just needed a little snack.

Breakfast was really nice too. There were some hot items and cold items. They had these chocolate and white muffins that I thought were amazing.

It is really located in the perfect location if you are there to visit the local shops, eateries or sights of the water. I'm lucky that the building I was working from was right on the water and had a beautiful view. It's a beautiful area for walking around and visiting.

The only thing that others might find kind of annoying or an inconvenience is that there is only valet parking since there is no hotel parking lot/garage. There used to be a lot across the street that was .75 cents an hour, however they have now dug it up to build another hotel. There is a parking garage around the corner that is .75 an hour and that is where we parked since the office we were going to was just a five minute walk.

But other than parking everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I finally had a day off together and decided to get out of town for a nice dinner and to watch the New England Patriots play. We have stayed at the Residence Inn in the past. You are cordially greeted by the valet staff at the door. They will also help you with your luggage.
The reception staff is always very cordial and helpful. Since the hotel wasn't fully booked we also got an upgrade on our room. They also serve a full breakfast in the morning. It is also very convenient to one of our favorite restaurants The Blue Mermaid which is right behind the hotel.
We had an excellant meal and watched the football game with an attentive waitstaff. I definitely will be staying ther again in the future.

Room Tip: The larger King Suite has a sofabed and a small kitchenette if you are planning an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picard505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was going to give it a 4 b/c its not super luxurious, but then I thought, I have no complaints!! Great location, great price, super clean, big room...really enjoyed our stay!
The in-door pool was a nice touch too.
Breakfast was basic, but included, so no big deal. If you want a memorable breakfast there are a lot of great restaurants in the area.
I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiguinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Maine, we stayed at this newer property due to fierce winter storm. The first impression was very good, with one (major) exception. The hotel was very clean, modern and attractive and the staff were immediately welcoming. Unfortunately, there was no parking in site so I had to park three blocks away in a municipal garage and walk through the snowstorm with my luggage! The front desk explained the parking lot across the street was being bulldozed for another new hotel.

The room was spacious and fresh with a separate living room, kitchenette and a roomy bathroom. However, the pull out bed was uncomfortable and there was not adequate bedding in the closet for the pull out.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was plentiful enough and decent, with some hot choices such as pancakes, sausage and home fries. The coffee, however, was bitter and disappointing

Overall, this is a cut above the standard Residence Inn. If they could fix the parking situation, it would be even better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineBilleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing