We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location and Surprisingly Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Surprisingly Stylish”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed one night at the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront and wish I stayed longer! I was aware that this was a new property but didn’t imagine it would be so stylish and comfortable. The room was large and immaculate. The studio space was attractive and didn’t feel like a dorm room, which has been the case at other Residence Inns. The bed was very comfortable. Service was lovely at the bar and main desk. Parking is easy and the location is amazing. I love Portsmouth and this hotel couldn’t be situated in a better spot; No need to drive anywhere. If you’re reserving it may appear that the price per night is a little steep for a Residence Inn but when you see the rooms you’ll understand why. I’ll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    140
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
146
179
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The receptionists at this hotel are extraordinarily pleasant. They really go out of their way to present a pleasant and cheerful experience, which is immediately noticeable. The last time I felt such a warm welcome was at a Disney Resort in Orlando. The rooms seem new-ish and are very clean and quite large. The free breakfast is somewhat ordinary but it is nicely set out, clean, and very adequate. Parking across the street is in an open lot, which does not seem to be monitored closely, but from what I have been told it is very safe. I parked an SUV with my son's school belongings in the lot and felt that it was safe. All in all, this is a very nicely run hotel with are really pleasant staff that go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Stayed in several of the rooms over the past months and they have all been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyvacationdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I are fans of the Residence Inn Brand and have stayed in several of them across the country. That being said we also realize that within this brand there can be a huge range of quality differences. A perfect example of this is seen in the 2 Residence Inns that are located In Portsmouth, New Hampshire. This location Downtown on the waterfront is outstanding in every way. The rooms are beautiful with new design and every comfort. Several nights a week you receive free food in the lobby at dinner time. The night we were there last week it was taco night. They had a good variety of toppings for the tacos as well as soft shells and hard shells for the meat filling. Breakfast was amazing and had plenty of choices for those who are health conscious such as egg whites, turkey bacon, hard boiled eggs, whole wheat breads, fresh fruit, oatmeal etc. The hotel is clean and very well run by a staff that seems to anticipate your every need. The woman who checked us in went out of her way to print menu pages from local take out places along with recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. We stayed at the other Residence Inn which is only 1 mile away and found it in need of an update. The Waterfront location is totally worth a bit more per night for double the service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Excellent rooms ,spacious,comfortable,you have everything that you need to feel like home!!!!!Amazing people in the front desk!!!!!I don't want to leave!!!!!The only thing I would like to suggest is just a bigger gym but thats all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaliami123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

New and clean. I travel to Portsmouth several times a year for business. This hotel is in a great location to walk to everything in downtown Portsmouth, yet in a quiet area. Kitchens are large here even in the studios. Large, easy to park lot right across the street- relatively inexpensive parking for downtown. Parking is typically very expensive and impossible to find in Portsmouth. I am convinced the meter people are lurking behind a bush just waiting to ticket you, so be careful. Walk- it's much easier. Didn't care for the color scheme in this Residence Inn - they are all different. Too much grey and screaming accents of lime green so the room didn't feel warm and inviting. I am just sensitive to color so it's strictly a personal issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrtle615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's located at the edge of town, but is within perfect walking distance to Portsmouth shops and restaurants. Came here for business, and had no issues with wifi and land-line internet. Had the typical complementary breakfast you would expect, but it got old within a few days. Room was spacious and well-kept. This is a fairly new hotel so the rooms are quite up-to-date. Note that parking is not free here, there is only street meter parking, or the other option is to park in the public parking lot right across the street at 75 cents per hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I wanted to share the great experience we had at this hotel. I usually don't stay at Residence Properties as they have had a reputation of taking in longer term tenants. However, this new, modern building really jumped out at me so I decided to book it. Their prices are reasonable $150 - $200 off season when I went but this was for a very clean, modern, 1 bedroom suite. The front staff was very helpful and cordial. This hotel is super well located and just a short stroll away from dozens of restaurants, coffee shops, dessert places, museums, etc. in beautiful downtown Portsmouth NH. I was vacillating between staying here or the Marriott Wentworth resort in New Castle but I am glad I stayed here since it was so much more convenient to everything. Also, the kitchen is great...with a full apartment sized refrigerator great for chilling beverages or leftovers from the nearby restaurants. The free breakfast buffet was a nice surprise as were there evening appetizers. Great place !

Room Tip: If traveling with 3 or more, get the 1 bedrooms suite as it affords much more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cblaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing